5 comments on “Finishing Novels and the Emotional Connection

  1. I sometimes end up in one, whenever I complete a work of short fiction. I can’t really say I’ve finished a novel, though I’m working on one. Trying to anyway.:p

    • I can’t remember if I got this way after short fiction, it’s been a really long time since I’ve written any. But it is comforting, in a way, to know that there are others who go through the same blah moods after finishing something.

      I wish you all the luck on your novel! It’s a fun journey and I hope you complete yours.

  2. I love your workspace––looks awesome! :D And I absolutely know what you mean. I also feel pretty depressed and empty for a while after I finish a first draft of a novel. You spend so much time with the story and characters, it just feels really strange when it suddenly comes to an end. It’s like suddenly losing contact with a good friend. For me it always feels kind of surreal when I get to that last line because it’s hard to accept that it’s “over” after working on it for months on end.

    • thank you! It’s nice to have a real workspace, finally.

      I think its even weirder this time because I wrote the novel SO FAST. It was my NaNoWriMo novel, so I only started it in November. Usually I take awhile to finish projects because I take breaks and come back (usually to avoid the sadness that comes from finishing a project). And it really is like losing contact with a good friend, that’s a great way to explain it.

Leave a Reply

