NaNoWriMo

Hello!  Its time for the obligatory NaNoWriMo post as it decided to sneak up on me this year.  We’ll talk about it in a little bit.

Worst thing that’s happened in the past two weeks is that I was fired.  My health has been so-so for a few months and it caused me to call in often-ish, which led to me being fired.  So I have no job at the moment.  I DO have my crochet business and I will shamelessly plug that now!  Check it out at my deviantart or my furaffinity.  I will try just about anything for crocheting 🙂

Now that I’m done shamelessly plugging myself…

Down to Business

NaNoWriMo.  For those who don’t know, that stands for National Novel Writing Month.  No, we don’t celebrate novels.  We write an entire novel in a month.  Yes, a month.  Shamefully, I’ve never been able to really participate before.  Through college I was busy with intense coursework and through highschool (once I was aware of it) I was working two jobs.  This is the first year that I’m able to compete.  And of course, what happens?  It sneaks up on me!  I only have a  little bit of time to plan out my novel!

So, the rules of NaNoWriMo!

  • write a 50,000 word novel from scratch in a month
  • writing starts on November 1st
  • writing closes on November 30th at midnight

Pretty simple, eh?  I would keep rules like “don’t plagiarize” in there as well, but that’s pretty common sense.

Why in the name of anything should I do this to myself?!

To prove that you can finish a novel.  To let some thoughts out.  In short, why not?  Is this going to hurt you? Nah.  Consider this a break from reality.  Allow yourself to be pulled into the world of your book.

NaNoWriMo isn’t about writing the most amazing novel out there, its about finishing one.  Revision is where refinement comes from.  A rough draft is always going to be pretty rough.  NaNoWriMo is about getting the thoughts out there.

My Stuff

I’ve got ideas for my novel.  I think I’m straying away from science fiction, but maybe not.  I’m not quite sure where this is going yet.  But I’m working out a plot.  Heh.

I can’t really give any tips other than to keep plugging away.  What can you lose?

Leave a Reply

