Looking Back on Animorphs

Hey all!  Sorry I’ve been absent again.  I’ve been busy.  I have a job interview and all that jazz.  I’m back at Tae Kwon Do and enjoying every minute of it.  Even the super hard parts.  I started writing the end of Prior Lives.  Its difficult.  Darien just killed for the first time.  It isn’t a happy period of her life.  We’ll just leave it at that.  At least I’m getting through the end of Prior Lives, even if it is a little bit at a time.

I’ve also been working on prep for Anime Central!  Lisa and I are going to be selling there in May (20th-22nd), so if you’re going, come visit us!  We would love to chat.  I’ll be getting super into preparation in the next week.

I’m also gearing up for NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month).  I’m planning on doing the poem-a-day challenge.  I’m thinking of showcasing my awful handwriting at times (lol) and definitely the nice notebook I got for poetry/writing ideas in general.  I’m excited for it.  I haven’t written poetry in about a year, I hope this will give me some incentive.  I’m hoping to update every day with a poem!

I’m still feeling pressure to find some sort of job to financially support me for awhile.  Its hard.  Not many places are hiring.  Blah.

Animorphs

Anyone who’s talked to me in the past few months knows that I’ve been plowing through the Animorphs series by K.A. Applegate again.  The books started coming out when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade, I started reading them when I was in 3rd grade once I got tired of Goosebumps.  I never made it all the way through the series – somewhere in there I got distracted by another book series.  I made it somewhere in the 20s-3os.  So I took it onto myself to go through the entire book series.  From beginning to end.  I finished sometime in the past two weeks.

The Animorphs series follows Jake, Cassie, Marco, Rachel, Tobias, and eventually Ax as they battle the Yeerk empire as the Yeerks try to invade Earth.  At least that’s what it boils down to.  For a book designed for children, its pretty complicated.  And graphic.  ****This blog contains spoilers about the entire Animorphs series.  You have been warned!****Anyway, moving on.  At the beginning of the series, the main characters aren’t exactly close.  Jake and Marco are best friends, Jake and Rachel are cousins, Rachel and Cassie are best friends, and Tobias was saved by Jake one day.  They decide to cut through the abandoned construction site one night and find Elfangor, an Andalite, who is dying.  He delivers the message that the Yeerks are on Earth, slowly taking over.  He gives them the power to morph into any animal they ‘acquire’ (touch) from a small cube.  They hide and he is killed by Visser 3 (a high ranking Yeerk).  They meet their main enemy, as well as the two different types of Controllers (creatures controlled by Yeerks), Hork-Bajir and Taxxons.  By the end of the first book, Tobias is stuck in a hawk morph and they have made their way into the Yeerk pool.  As the series goes on, the missions get more dangerous and more difficult.  We watch children break into adulthood way too early.  We watch as war changes them into something different, or something that was hiding beneath everything else.

I don’t want to go too much into the actual plot.  There are a few parts in the series that bug me, but in general, I would recommend this series for anyone over the age of eight.  Its an excellent read.  I just wanted to introduce the main ideas.

My Favorites of the Series

My hands down favorite character is Aximili-Esgarrouth-Isthill, otherwise known as Ax.  He is very much like all Andalites, arrogant and superior to other beings.  That’s not why I like him, of course.  He is able to make decisions that the others might not because of his knowledge of other alien species.  However, he doesn’t keep all of his knowledge to himself.  He shares his knowledge, a little bit at a time, to the other Animorphs.  He is loyal.  He’s also pretty damn funny.  Cinnamon Buns.  Bun-zuh.  Enough said.

Marco is another of my favorite characters.  He’s one smart kid, especially when you take into consideration that they’re in middle school when the series starts.  He is the brains behind the operation, the one who handles tactics.  He makes sure the plans are water tight before they go out and try to get themselves killed.  He also has emotions, which he usually can detach himself from.  It doesn’t make him an easy character to relate to, but it makes him really believable in the story.  He’s really well-written.

I like how the plot unfolds.  Of course, at the end of the series, it is revealed that a lot more time has passed than what is originally believed.  The story shows us that the war their fighting is larger than any of them could have imagined.  I think this is first shown in the first Yeerk pool battle.  Once they saw that the Yeerk pool spanned much more than they could have imagined and had multiple entrances – the war felt bigger to them.  That, and Tobias was trapped in his hawk morph in that battle (whether it was accidental or on purpose).  The stakes get higher and higher as the series goes on.  That makes a lot of sense to me.

My Issues with Animorphs

My issues boil down to the final book.  I waited awhile to write this blog to see if this was just a passing issue, but I don’t think it is.  Unlike a lot of people, I liked that Rachel died at the end.  The stakes at the end of the series were high enough that a main character death had to happen.  At least in my mind.  My big issue falls in the very end.  The fact that there really isn’t an end.  There.  I said it.  No end.

I was very disappointed in that.  It felt like a cop-out at best.  For a series that had approximately 60 books, I think an ending would have been really appreciated.  Either that, or don’t go into the aftermath of the war.  Having them go into battle leaves way too much open at the very end of a series.  I understand that it might have been intentionally left open, but it doesn’t feel like there was any closure.   I know that it would be difficult to bring closure to the characters.  Jake is torn apart because he killed his cousin and his brother.  Cassie has moved on by doing what she loves.  Marco is leading a shallow life that doesn’t stimulate his mind.  Tobias is living as a hawk.  Closure for them would be difficult.  But closure for the reader would be necessary.  I don’t know how, but closure.   I wanted closure.Also?  Introducing how many new characters at the end of the series?  Not cool.

Conclusion!

Now that I’ve ranted about it…I still want closure on the series.  But I would highly recommend the series to anyone.  This is probably where my love of sci-fi started.  I’ve been daydreaming in science fiction since I was a little child.  This book started it all for me.  So if you like sci-fi and would like to read a series that’s really not for kids?  Check out Animorphs.  I hear they’re re-printing the first six books.  I hope that means they’re reprinting the whole series.  It would be nice to get my hands on some of the Chronicle books.  I think the reprinted books are hitting the shelves in May.  Keep your eyes open for them!

Thanks for reading!

What are your experiences with the Animorphs series?  Did you love it or hate it as a kid?  Or now?

Image found on Google Image Search.

6 thoughts on “Looking Back on Animorphs

  1. The final book of the animorph series is why I changed from a reader willing to take on anything to a weary, selective person who only reads what another trusted person has read. (At least for series. I have been known to take risks on single books.)

    I simply don’t want to waste my time on a complete series without being sure the writer won’t let me down. To me, the author of Animorphs let me down.

    • I totally understand what you mean. For a series that is so long, so well-written (considering it is written for children), the ending is so much of a let down. I was, and still am, really disappointed.

      I tend to go through other people to find out what to read now, or read what’s assigned in a class, or what is similar to other things that I’ve read. I’m similar with manga and comics as well.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Try Jim Butcher. I love his Harry Dresdon series (I think I’m misspelling that, darn it!). I also liked the first 3 books of a different series he wrote about furies, although I’m starting to get annoyed by the fact that every dramatic piece of dialogue in the book has to be said “Quietly.”

    >_>

    Oh well. Can’t expect perfection, right? ^^

    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll definitely check them out ^^

      That would get a bit irritating.

      So true, so true. I can’t expect perfection when I don’t write perfectly.

  3. I realize i’m necroing this nearly 5 years, but man, i read this series over 3 years waaaay back when i was younger, couldn’t find all the books so sometimes I had to skip. I just recently re-read them all and holy hell the end was just a slap to the face. I kept looking for the next book because surely it couldn’t end like that..Really looking for another series, have already burned through the Dresdon Files mentioned here.

    • You know, I still haven’t read the Dresdon Files books. I should actually get around to that! What sort of series are you looking for? Similar to Animorphis? Or just a series?

      I have several recommendations I could give!

Leave a Reply

