NaPoWriMo: Day 1

National Poetry Writing Month is here!  I didn’t think this would take so little time, but I went with it.  I’ve not written poetry in about a year, since ENG307.  It feels nice to finally be getting back into it after focusing on novels for so long.  Sometimes I’ll be following the prompts, sometimes I’ll be spewing out my own poems.  We’ll see how it works.

This is mainly an excuse for me to get into writing poetry again.  My NaPoWriMo posts will likely be short.  Unless I manage a long poem of some sort.  I’ll continue doing regular blog posts as well!

I’ve longed to see
the universe – bright
as water in July.
To drift in nebulae,
sink in a black hole,
and bask in a supernova.
Stars will shimmer
like candlelight
as moons and planets
continue their waltz,
circles upon circles,
twirling towards nothingness.

There we go!  Let me know what you think!

~Laura

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Sestina Day 23: Wonders « Sarah's Sestinas

  2. Thanks! I’m sorry I ended up using your poem to pick on a lovely scientist! Professor Brian Cox is brilliant and his show is actually really good! I hope you get it over there eventually.
    In the meantime

Leave a Reply

