NaPoWriMo: Day 5

Hey all.  Today there are two poems.  One is an extra that I wrote yesterday after getting news that my great aunt had died.  The other continues my Dynasty Warriors 7 poems.  I’m a bit down, but she lived a long, happy life and she’s no longer suffering.

On the day my aunt died
the frosted green
daffodil stems grew buds.
Yellow and bursting with life.

Eventually I’ll elaborate on this poem, but I’m a little too close to the event to write clearly.

On a different note, I actually followed today’s prompt for NaPoWriMo.  “And now for our daily prompt. First, I’ll just clarify that the prompts are entirely optional – they’re there to help you out in case you are feeling uninspired, but you can ignore them at will. Anyway, today’s prompt plays on the fact that poetry itself is a type of play, and that great lines often arise out of paradoxes and oxymorons. With that, I give you the Serendipitous Oxymoron Maker, which will randomly pair up words into oxymorons for you, like “blissful zombie” or “sour beauty.” Try a few, and see if you can’t incorporate at least one into your poem for today”

 

Sima Yi pulled me aside one night, his eyes glittering with gorgeous cruelty.  The gardens were stunning, plants hacked to perfection.  He says my dancing on the battlefield is beautiful, like a striking snake.  Laughter, malicious, bubbles up in his throat as we wander through the moonlit garden.

 

Yeah, another Wei boy.  Well, Jin as well.  But he starts in Wei.  Maybe I’ll be able to break away from them after today’s poem, but likely not.  Not my fault that there’s a bunch of really interesting people in Wei.

Serendipitous Oxymoron Maker

That oxymoron maker is pretty hilarious.  I had “fabulous zombie” as well.

Thanks!

~Laura

Leave a Reply

