A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 2)

A long time ago, I promised that I’d do another of these posts when I had ideas.  I’ve had awhile to think about it and I think I finally have enough ideas for a second one of these blogs.

Like I mentioned yesterday, I’m going to be doing NaNoWriMo this year.  My goal, of course, is to finish.  I didn’t finish last year because I started to burn out towards the end of the month.  I think it was because I’ve been working with that same universe for so long.  Which is why I’m (kind of) in a different universe this year.  I’m very excited to be working in this new universe.

So, in general, things are happy in Starving Writer Land, despite being a starving writer.  I wish I had more money to pay the bills, but I think most people are that way.  Nothing unusual there.  On a really bright note, I got to meet Voltaire after his concert in Milwaukee on the 21st.  It was a great night.  Easily one of the best concerts that I’ve been to!

Don’t Be Afraid to Temporarily Stop Working

Especially if you’re putting something aside to keep yourself from getting burnt out.  This is what I’m doing with the Opus Universe (sans Cheshire, I actually get to work with him now!).  I’ve been working in the Opus Universe since February of 2009.  Almost exclusively, at that.  I love the universe.  Its very near and dear to my heart.  But working on my Opus Aria revision the past couple months has been like pulling teeth.  Don’t get me wrong, what I’ve written has been pretty damn good.  The revisions are coming along quite nicely.  I just need a small break from that universe.  I need to work with something fresh and new.

There is No Such Thing as Too Many Ideas

If you write them down.  I recently wrote down my writing goals for the next couple months/year.  I realized that I have a lot of projects going on.  Most of my ideas aren’t just for one book.  There’s likely to be three or four books in a given series – which is really cool (to me).  However, it gets a little dicey because it really is a lot of ideas.  However, I’ve got my wonderful little notebook.  It has character descriptions, character profiles, story ideas, bits and pieces of novels, drabbles…etc.  It has everything.  I even have a little bit of a table of contents in it!  I have so many notebooks (I really should get around to putting the ideas from those notebooks into cloud storage…) laying around that I haven’t looked at it years…  But the point is, there is no such thing as too many ideas.  If you keep them organized, having a ton of ideas is a wonderful thing.

 Don’t Be Afraid to Change Your Mind

One of the things that I used to be afraid of was changing my mind in writing.  After I had written it, it was clearly set in stone.  It could never change.  Learning to revise changed my mind on that.  Sometimes its a great thing to stick to your guns.  Sometimes when you’re revising a character is going to stay dead.  That’s cool.  However, sometimes its important to stay flexible.  Sometimes a character’s appearance just needs to change.  Sometimes a character just needs to go to a different universe.  By being able to change your mind, you open up a lot more doors in both writing and revision.  By changing a story that I’ve been planning for months to air pirates instead of traditional pirates I give myself a lot more creative leeway (I also don’t have to do as much research into ships).  Changing your mind can be a good thing.  If it isn’t, you can always go back to what you had before.  Or change it to something else.  Having multiple documents is another good idea…

When Setting Your Deadlines…Get Someone to Help You Achieve Them

I don’t know about you, but procrastination just seems to be in my blood.  To quote Douglas Adams, “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.”  That seems to be what happens most often.  At times I’ll accidentally hit my deadlines (meaning, I magically crank out 30 pages in a couple days), most times I get horribly distracted.  When I was taking my instructor training course for taekwondo, one of the portions was on goal setting, and more importantly, achieving said goals.  One of the most important steps was telling someone else about your goals so they could help make sure your hitting your milestones and ultimately achieving your goals.  Unfortunately, I’m going to miss one of my biggest goals for the fall – finishing my revision of Opus Aria by October 31st.  If I tried to crank it all out at this point, my writing would suffer.  Needless to say, I’ll be telling some more people about my goal next time.  A  lot of people know about my NaNoWriMo goal.  Hopefully that one will work out!

 

Before this blog gets too much longer, I’m concluding “A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 2)”.  Eventually, there will be a part 3!

~Laura

5 thoughts on “A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 2)

  1. This is surprisingly helpful to me ( not a lot things/ people give good advice/suggestions).
    One of them: I now know that there is nothing wrong with have multiple notebooks ( I’ve been sparing mine the possible pointless ideas that would hastily fill it up and the I would be out of an awesome notebook) it is good to know- even though, now that I think about it, it is probably common sense and I now feel a little slower than I did yesterday- that I can jot down all my ideas. Probably would’ve had a bunch of great ideas by now *sad face*.
    Good luck with nanowrimo!- i “signed” up for it but I don’t think I can do it right now, too “busy”….yes these are terrible excuses 😦
    Can’t wait to read part 2!

    • Thanks so much for the comment! I’m so glad that it was helpful to you. Not all notes are winners, but I’ve lost so many ideas by not writing them down that I don’t risk it anymore. I really need to work on getting my old notebooks up on the computer/into cloud computing storage.

      Thanks, I really hope I finish this year. I totally understand being busy. Sometimes its good to participate just to get that idea rolling 🙂

      I will definitely be doing more of these posts!

  2. Pingback: A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 6) | Rants from a Starving Writer

  3. Pingback: A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 7) | Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

