My Current Writing Projects and Issues (Part 2)

It seems like I’m doing a lot of (Part 2) blogs…meh.  Still going to do them.  On a more random note, I’m SUPER excited.  Less than 12 hours until I get to start NaNoWriMo!  I’m so excited to start working with new characters and begin exploring a new universe.  Again, if you’re participating, add me on the website!  Here’s my author page.  I’ll add you back.

This is also my 50th blog.  Go me!

I’m adding a new portion to the blog. An ask the starving writer type thing.  You can ask me questions and I’ll likely answer them.  If they’re incredibly inappropriate, I might not answer them.  You can also suggest topics for blogs!  I’m always looking for new ideas.

This is a departure from helpful posts to allow me to be whiny and document my struggles with writing.  And some of the awesome ideas I have.  You know, the usual.  I’m a writer.  I want to be published, so naturally, I have to have ideas.  And I really have a ton of them.  It kind of helps for me to get them down on the blog as well as on paper.  Multiple places.  Yup.  Less likely to forget them.

Oh and happy Halloween!

Moving On

So I’m going to go through my various project ideas and some of the issues. Pretty simple.  This is bound to be a really long blog.  Stick around if you like!  Let me know which ideas sound the most interesting.

Convergence Point

This is my current big project.  Convergence Point (dear god I hate that name!) allows me to potentially use all of the universes I’ve created.  Think of our universe as a soap bubble.  Now think of other bubbles pressing against our bubble.  Each of those bubbles is a separate universe, similar to earth, yet vitally different.  Of my three main characters, only one of them is from the universe that the story takes place in.  One is from the Opus Universe (CHESHIRE!  I’ve been waiting ever-so-patiently to work with him for TWO YEARS) and the other is from a universe that had a huge technological revolution.  The first book, the one I’ll be writing for NaNoWriMo, is in Celia’s point of view.  It is more of an introduction to the idea.  I’m pretty sure I know who my main antagonist is, so that’s pretty cool too.  Celia eventually ends up as part of Karmalink, an organization who’s perhaps I’m still fleshing out.  Once your suspicions about there being more than one universe are confirmed, how do you go back to your normal, boring life?  Is it even possible?

Forests of Time

Forests of Time is something that popped up when I first started writing my current draft of Opus Aria.  The main character, Ash Ward, is incredibly broken.  There are some serious similarities with the two of us, she’s a martial artist and a writer.  That’s as far as the similarities go, though.  I’m hesitant to continue with the novel because of those similarities.  Moving on.  Forests of Time is a story that primarily takes place in a forest (a rather warm climate forest).  The forest conceals some high level technology (teleportation and time travel, to be exact!).  Ash and her people are there to protect this technology from would-be-thieves.  Things go pretty smoothly until they realize that the group that’s currently trying to get into their forest has previous connections with them.  I think I like working with the side character Jack Morrison more than Ash, at times…ahem.  Back on topic.  I keep thinking of having a mad dash through time to end it, but I’m not sure.  It seems cliched.  So the ending of that novel is in flux.  Actually, so is the middle.  The only thing in stone is the beginning…

Opus Universe

I don’t feel like making headings for all of the Opus stuff I have to work on.  It would just be too long.  Anyway, within the Opus Universe, I have Opus Aria, Prior Lives (Opus Cadenza), Opus Canon (Opus Requiem), and Opus Whatever.  Yes.  Four of them.  For the longest time I was convinced that a trilogy would be perfect.  Nope.  Four of them.  That’s perfect.  For now.  Alright.

Chronological order time! Prior Lives, which is narrated by Darien Marcellus.  She is a powerful Adept who is also in touch with her soul, which allows her to be in touch with her prior lives (hence the working title!).  She gets mixed up with the Underground Alliance’s plans to protect people who’s lives are threatened by the government’s new regime.  This book introduces the corrupt government, Major John Stratton (who wasn’t going to show up! I swear!), and Adepts.

Opus Whatever is the next book chronologically.  It is also a book that is in flux.  I started developing it on September 13th.  There are two narrators for the book; John Stratton and Light (who doesn’t have a last name yet, oops).  Originally I was going to have Aria be the second narrator, but I thought it would be nice to get some of Light’s snark into a book.  The book takes place during two different parts of the timeline.  Stratton’s portion of the narrative takes place while he is developing Project Maestro, possibly into the training of the first group of Opera.  Light’s portion takes place from the start of the mission that allows them to discover who exactly destroyed the skies up through he and Aria leaving Project Maestro.

Opus Aria takes place next and I’ve talked enough about that before.  I talk about it a little more during this blog.  Aria is the narrator.

Opus Requiem (Canon, whatever) is the final book in the Opus series.  Well, for now.  Anyway, there are three narrators for Opus Requiem/Canon.  John Stratton, Keiran (who doesn’t have a last name), and Madeline Brayton (formerly called Melody).  This takes place after the collapse of Project Maestro.  I’m not quite sure what all happens in this book.  I’m pretty sure that I’m going to have them overthrow the government…not sure yet.  The only thing I’m pretty sure about is who the narrators are, even then, that has changed!  Stratton was originally going to die!

Pirates!

Yeah, I wanted to write a full on pirates at sea story awhile back.  I started developing this idea back in June.  Now I’m starting to tweak things a little.  I realized that I don’t want to do all the research into ships that I would need to do.  I don’t think I can do the amount of fantasy required for this type of story.  So now they’re air pirates.  I don’t have to worry as much about certain things.  There’s still going to be swords, but I think it might be a lot more steampunk now.  Which is interesting as I never thought I’d be writing in that genre!  Anyway, the story follows Marlena Kidd and Victor Tiberi.  Since I just made a huge change to their story (seafaring pirates into sky pirates…) I’m unsure about everything else.  I’m sure their appearances are pretty much the same!

Urban Fantasy Project

I’m not quite sure what to call this project.  I started thinking about having a more fantasy universe.  I thought it might be part of the universe below, but its not.  Its entirely separate.  It has shapeshifters, casters, and different species including reptile people and bird people!  The main character sticking out to me is Zian de Fiero, who is an Evaran (one of the bird-like people).  He is a snarky, wonderful bastard.  I just don’t know what the conflict in the novel is.  Maybe once I’ve figured it out I can start working with it.  Perhaps this universe will cross over into the one in Convergence Point.

Magic.Tech

Alright, the last one.  This story has been in development since 2010 or so.  I was watching my boyfriend play Sims 3 and I was struck by this image of a female ‘villain’.  The image was so vivid that I started writing her character profile that very night.  Alice Lenore Delany was born.  This is a fun story as it blends elements of fantasy in with science fiction.  Alice is a magic user in a world that has banned magic.  It has a hefty fine and can lead to jail time, possibly death.  Technology is viewed as being the greater feat.  Of course, magic users aren’t going to sit and let this idly go by, right?  Alice is a dream walker.  One day I was hit by the thought, “computers go to sleep”.  Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?  also came to mind.  Somehow, she’s going to be bridging the gap between magic and technology.  The characters in this novel are all so interesting to me.  My main five people (Alice, Sebastian, Sully, Dex, and Lucy) are all magic users.  I’m pretty sure they’re all going to be helping bridge the gap…not sure yet.  I had more ideas for this at one point.  Perhaps after NaNoWriMo is done I’ll start writing out more of the ideas!  Again, this is more of a series than an individual book.  I thought it would be cool to explain their childhood/teen years in backstory.

Wow, that was way too long!

Over 1000 words later and I’ve finished writing about the projects and some issues I have with them.  I’m excited to work with each of the universes I’ve created.  Which of these ideas sounds like the most fun?  Do you want to see excerpts or drabbles from any of them?

Thanks for reading!

~Laura

2 thoughts on “My Current Writing Projects and Issues (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 4) | Rants from a Starving Writer

  2. Pingback: Current Writing Projects and Problems: Part 5 | Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

