Two Days into NaNoWriMo 2011

Hey everyone!  Firstly, today is Dia de los Muertos!  I’d highly recommend listening to the Spanish version of Dia de los Muertos by Voltaire (or the English version).

Also, don’t forget that there is an “Ask the Starving Writer” section to play around with.  Ask me anything or suggests topics for me to blog on!  I think it could be fun and it would allow me to interact with people a little more.

Today is day two of NaNoWriMo!  How is everyone holding up so far?

Personally, I’m doing fantastic.  I just hit 4,734 words and am taking a small break.  I love where the characters are taking me.  I’m still not sure on my main villain, but I’m sure he or she will start to form within the next few days.  Right now I’m still way in the introductory stuff.  Its great to finally be working with Celia, Nathaniel, and especially Cheshire.

What sort of music have you been listening to while writing?  I’ve mainly be listening to Voltaire – something about his music just hits the right tone of this novel.  Meaning, there’s going to be some spooky stuff, but there are some lighthearted moments.  Though I did listen to my friend’s livestream on the first night.  That was fun too.

I’ve been doing most of my writing after midnight until about 1:30 am.  Then I’ll write periodically throughout the day.  I’m trying to build up a buffer because my weekends tend to be busy.  This weekend I’m going to Video Games Live! (somehow I doubt writing is going to get done while I’m there).  My normal dark circles are starting to be a little more apparent.  I’m thinking of taking pictures of them every day to see how bad they get…

So NaNoWriMo is going very well for me.  How is it going for everyone else?

~Laura

 

7 thoughts on “Two Days into NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. I’ve been writing by the seat of my pants for NaNoWriMo. No outline, and just a vague sense of where the plot is going. Thankfully, once in a while, the characters come up with an idea for me, so that’s less work for me.
    😄
    I’ve been writing in the mornings for an hour and sporadically throughout the rest of the day.
    Anywway, I love listening to the ChronoCross soundtrack while writing, housecleaning, anything! I think it’s my favorite music of all time.

    • I try not to work with an outline for NaNoWriMo, I want the characters to lead me places. I feel that its their story and they should tell me what’s going on 😄

      I’m not much of a morning person, lol. If I had it my way, I’d be up until 6am and sleeping until 2pm or so. I’ll have to check out the ChronoCross soundtrack then 🙂 I’m always looking for new writing music.

Leave a Reply

