NaNoWriMo Wrap Up

Hey all!  Been awhile since I’ve posted.  Things have been pretty busy in this neck of the woods.  I’m not as happy as I was say, a week ago.  There are reasons for that, of course.

Here I am blogging at 2:36 am central time.  I wish I could have a nocturnal sleep schedule.

So, NaNoWriMo.  I was doing so awesome this year.  My predicted end time for the longest time was the 22nd.  That didn’t happen, heh.  I’m not disappointed.  That would have been insane.  Weekends slowed me down, a spontaneous night of depression slowed me down.  Still, was on track to finish until last week Tuesday.  Last week Tuesday I got injured at taekwondo.  Normally this wouldn’t be a big deal with my writing, but it was a pretty severe injury.  My mom thought I had thrown my back out – and honestly, I would have been okay with that.  (I’ve had back problems for a long time).  The problem with the injury was that I was in so much pain that I couldn’t focus my thoughts on writing.  Sitting for an extended period of time hurt like hell (you know, like ten minutes).  Standing hurt like hell.  Transitioning made everything worse.

Overnight it worsened to the point of crying in pain and frustration.  I went to visit my chiropractor.  I sprained/strained/whatever-ed my sacral-illiac joint.  What that means is that where my lower back and the top part of my hip connect is really hurt.  It was a severe sprain/strain/whatever.  I’m banned from taekwondo for two weeks.  Banned from exercise.  And sitting for extended periods of time is still hurts pretty badly.

Needless to say, I’ve dropped out of the NaNoWriMo race.  I’m not giving up on this novel.  This novel has brought me such wonderful ideas.  Wonderful characters.  In that light, NaNoWriMo was a huge success.  I love these characters and want to continue working with them for a long time.  It renewed my spark for novel writing.  It did what I wanted from it. If I couldn’t win, I just wanted to have a great story come from NaNoWriMo.  I know my excuse for not winning is pretty weak, but its all I have.

How is everyone else doing with their writing?  I hope your month has gone better than mine!

~Laura

 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Wrap Up

  1. Kudos to you! I’ve never tried NaNoWriMo, so whatever you have is better than what I have. The only writing I’ve done, as of late, is lesson plan writing. I don’t think that counts, though. I’m sorry to hear about your injury. If you need anything, let me know!

    • I wish I had been able to keep up with it, but again, I’m just happy that I managed to get as much as I did, considering the injury. I’m proud of what I’ve written. Lesson plans probably do not count…but its still some writing, right?

      I’ll let you know, thanks! (SO FRUSTRATED! I can’t do ANY exercise!)

  2. Pingback: What’s Been Going On « Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

