NaPoWriMo, Kindle Direct Publishing, and Other Stuff

Hey all!  How did it get to be the end of March?  Seriously!  I apologize for the lack of posts.  I’ve been busy working on a very large crochet commission (still working on it) and have been busy with some side projects as well.

One of those side projects has been pushing forward into the world of roleplaying.  I’ll say now, I’ve never read a PERN book in my life, but I love the world and love dragons.  My friend started a website recently and I figured it would be nice to use it as a character exercise.  Aces in Exile is the site.  It is non-canon and very new.  Everyone is very friendly.  I’m on there as DancingAssassin.

My other distraction was a taekwondo tournament.  I got beaten badly, but it was a great experience.

NaPoWriMo

National Poetry Writing Month starts on April 1st.  Had I realized that it was March earlier in the month, I would have mentioned it then!  But as I mentioned above, its been a busy month!Unlike the other writing months, this is about completing a poem a day rather than hitting a word count.  I’m not sure if that’s easier or harder.  I have every intention of finishing this year, despite having a very busy April.  Anime Central is at the end of the month.

But yes, if you enjoy writing poetry, you should do NaPoWriMo.  If you don’t complete the poem a day challenge, it doesn’t matter.  You’ve gotten some new poetry that can then be polished and revised.  Just trying is awesome.  I had fun doing it last year.  I’ve added my site onto the participant list.  Check out their website.

Kindle Direct Publishing

I’ve decided that I’m going to be putting my first novel, Opus Aria, on Kindle through their direct publishing program.  I’ve only gotten two rejections – but I’m taking this into my own hands. And technically putting it into your hands as well.  I’d rather let the public decide if my book is good rather than one single agent.  You know?  So if you’ve been interested in reading my book, you’ll be able to soon!  I’m very excited (and very nervous) about this.  If anyone has experience with this, I would appreciate a few tips.

While it is self-publishing, how the publishing world works has been changing over the past few years.  I’ve always embraced technology, so I might as well embrace the fact that this allows me to self-publish and get profit.  If you are interested, I will let you know on here when I get it up on Amazon.  I’ll be getting up there once I have some cover art and do a few minor edits.

New Novel Idea

I managed to get some interesting inspiration from a nightmare I had about a week and a half ago.  I’m starting to plan out another novel.  It’ll deal with dreams and the human consciousness.  It’ll be science fiction because the premise I’m making doesn’t work in a mundane or magical universe.  It just feels like it should be science fiction.

Its always so exciting to be working with new material.  I am unsure if this is a new universe or one that I’ve worked with (or at least mentioned) before.  Either way, I’m excited to explore new characters and the possibility of a new world.  Once I have things fleshed out a little more, perhaps I’ll get them up here.  This idea is still in infancy.  I just started writing the ideas down today at lunch!

Anyway, that’s all I have for now.  I’ll be doing daily/semi-daily posts for NaPoWriMo, so expect to hear from me soon!

~Laura

Leave a Reply

