My Issues With The Hunger Games Series

Hey all!  This blog has been in the works for over two months.

Things are going well in Starving Writer Land.  I’m going to link to Aces in Exile again because its a fun place to roleplay.  There are DRAGONS.  Everyone loves dragons.  The game is based in PERN, but is non-canon.  So if you love dragons and love RP, come check out Aces in Exile.  I’m on there as DancingAssassin.

I have a week without Taekwondo.  So lets hope that I can keep the ball rolling with blogs and a vlog.

The Hunger Games

Believe it or not, I didn’t really know about The Hunger Games right away.  I had heard that it was good, I had heard that it was a better influence on young girls than Twilight.  That endeared me to it immediately.  But I didn’t consider reading it until I read this article from Lit Reactor.  Despite the lackluster recommendations on the second and third book, I figured I should get around to reading The Hunger Games.  I ended up breaking my rule for books and saw the movie first.  While I enjoyed both the books and the movie, I do have some issues.  There will be spoilers in this.  If you have not finished the series, don’t bother reading this blog.

Katniss’ Isolation

For the most part, I like Katniss.  She’s an interesting character.  I like how she functions in the first book.  I know some of what I’m going to say is mainly plot necessity, but it needs to be said.  Katniss had a bit too much time in her headspace.  She was really isolated in the Hunger Games arena.  Yes, I understand that it really is part of the story, blah blah blah.  Inner monologue is nice and all – and you really can get away with a lot of it in a first person narrative…but for me, I would have liked her to interact more.  When she was with Rue (and then with Peeta) the story felt a little more natural.  One of my professors called it a vacuum story when a character was too in their own head.  I just would have liked that the character interaction be spaced better – not so many huge gaps.

Again, I understand that part of it is the nature of some of the plots.  Doesn’t change that I want more character interaction versus isolation.

Finnick and Prim’s Deaths

I’m cutting straight to the chase here.  They were cheap.  While they were both main characters, Rue’s death in The Hunger Games had more impact.  Finnick just gets pulled away and ends up dying – unbelievably considering he survived in two arenas.  Prim was on a battlefield? Even less believable because she was what…thirteen?  Why would a thirteen-year-old be tending wounded when doctors exist.  I don’t care if she was a healer – no one would send her over someone who was fully qualified.

Ahem.

At least Katniss had some sort of breakdown after Prim’s.  Even if it was weeks, months, whatever…later.  With Finnick they had to keep moving.  I just think these deaths were unnecessary.  It’s not because they were my favorite characters (though Finnick was one of my favorites) – it was because they didn’t do much for the story.

Katniss was already emotionally broken before Prim died.  Prim dying just made everything she had done worthless.  It’s a total life sucks type moment, but I don’t really think it did anything for the story.

A Few Positives

On the other hand, the series is quite good.  It’s a different and interesting concept.  It’s grey on grey morality, which makes it even more awesome for me.  We know how much I love morally grey characters.  I like that there is a strong female lead.  She has flaws, which to me makes her wonderful.  She has limitations.  She’s a good and interesting character.  She’s a far better role model than Bella Swan – though we all know my opinion on Twilight.  So, in general, I like Katniss as a character.

I am one of the few people that genuinely thought the ending to the series was good.  I thought it was fitting.  It is a happy-ish ending.  But one that has lasting repercussions on our main characters.  It suits the series.  For all the bad that went on, a fully happy ending would have felt cheap.  It just wouldn’t have worked.  This ending works for me.  All in all, these are just my opinions.

What does everyone else feel about the series?  Do you like the 1st person narrative?  Do you agree that some of the deaths have no meaning?  Let me know what you think!

~LL Lemke

11 thoughts on “My Issues With The Hunger Games Series

  1. I definitely agree with you about the deaths. I mean, Primrose’s death was sort of explained, in that President Coin wanted to kill her off so she arranged for Prim to be with the medics, but STILL. I just don’t get what Suzanne Collins was trying to tell us. That if we sacrifice everything to save the ones we love, they’ll just die off anyway? And Finnick’s death! As if he would go down that way! You’re absolutely right, he’s survived 2 Hunger Games, and he definitely should have survived this one.

    If you like fanfiction, you should check this one out: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6272948/1/Life_Through_Sea_Green_Eyes . It’s about Finnick’s life, all his Hunger Games, his romance with Annie, etc., and it has a happy ending 🙂 I wrote it, hence why I’m shamelessly promoting it here, but so far people have really enjoyed it, so maybe you will too 🙂

    • I’m glad that I’m not the only one who felt the deaths were cheap. Yeah, I couldn’t remember if her death had been explained – I only read Mockingjay once (I read the others twice). I don’t understand what she was trying to get across either – which is why it bugged me so much!

      Finnick is made of tough stuff! I really liked his character…

      And I’ll definitely have to check that out – I love reading fanfiction! Maybe I’ll start promoting the fanfics I’ve enjoyed recently on here…

  2. I think Prim’s death was just further proof that Hunger Games is no Twilight. Katniss’ whole goal i to protect Prim and in the end, it was all for naught. There was no nice ending with everything tied up with a sweet bow. I think many other writers would have ended it with Gale and Prim getting together or something. No one in safe in The Hunger Games.

    • I suppose it could have been as simple as trying to show that no one is safe in The Hunger Games. I just don’t know how it further developed Katniss.

      I haven’t checked out the fanfiction for this yet…do people actually put Gale and Prim together? that just seems so…odd

      Thank you for the comment!

        • I’m really not a fan of Twilight…but the idea of Jacob getting with Bella’s daughter is disturbing to an extreme. Makes me dislike the series even more.

          Thanks for the comments and opinions, it’s always nice to hear ones that differ from mine 🙂

  3. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Pingback: “The Hunger Games”: Television whores and the people who love them… « Radu presents: The Movie-Photo Blog

  5. I absolutely wanted to set fire to my copy of Mockingjay or make confetti out of the pages when Prim died. I read Mockingjay a while ago, but I just remember the hatred that I had for the ending. Although I would have killed President Coin also for killing my sister, President Snow but Panem through hell for years. He made sure that the outer districts starved. Anyway, if I was Suzanne Collins, I would have approached the book in a different way. Instead of making readers angry that Katniss is only used for propaganda instead of fighting alongside the army, I would have written it so that they had to conquer each district before taking the capitol. This would work because this gives readers a chance to visualize each district. If you read the trilogy, you’ll find that she only describes a little bit of district 11, and thats it. You don’t know anything about the other districts. Also, this gives Katniss the chance to meet new characters that have new roles in the rebellion. Collins could have made some of the people she meets traitors, who help the Capitol. This would stretch out the book into one or two more books, making the series four or five books instead of having a trilogy. This would give everyone a happy ending, the book would have action, and the plot would be better.

Leave a Reply

