Must Reads: The Eyre Affair

Hey all!  I apologize for the lack of of vlog this week – I was sick and my camera was at my boyfriend’s apartment.  But fear not, there will be a vlog next week, that way everyone can get their weekly dose of me being awkward in front of the camera as I forget how to speak. If you have questions, I can answer them on vlogs as well!

Anyway, I’m hoping to test to my 2nd degree black belt next month. Less than a month! Good god, I need to start some cardio conditioning.  I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this, but I wanted to make sure.  I’m very excited.  It’s been almost six years since I tested for my 1st degree, so it’ll be super cool to test next month.

As a reminder! I have a fan art contest going on throughout the month of July.  The top two entries will receive free hard copies of Opus Aria.  I will ship to anywhere.  The rules for the contest can be found here.  The contest closes on July 31st.  I look forward to seeing more entries!

 The Eyre Affair

Last week, I went to the library for the first time in awhile.  I really like the NPR’s Top 100 science fiction and fantasy flow chart.  It helps me when I can’t decide what to read.

Even with the flowchart helping, it’s hard for me to decide on books.  So I went with gut instinct.  I had been wanting to watch the 2011 Jane Eyre adaptation (my boyfriend won’t watch it with me because it’s romantic).  The one with Michael Fassbender.  Therefore, The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde jumped onto my summer reading list.I loved every bit of this novel.  Not even kidding.

The World

Fforde creates a crazy, yet believable alternate reality.  Books are taken very seriously.  Time travel happens and is expected to happen.  Vampires and werewolves exist.  It’s fantastic, but there are still elements in line with our universe. War still exists.  There isn’t always enough funding for programs.  Religion still exists.  It’s a unique, but almost familiar world.

I want to live in that world.  Seriously.

Thursday Next

Our main character is Thursday Next – a woman aged about 30something.  She is smart, quick-witted, and willing to dive head first into action.  She’s an extremely strong female lead and that makes me so happy.  She’s a literatec – a special ops detective who specializes in literature.  We find out quickly that she is a war veteran of the much disputed Crimean war.  She is personally connected to the villain – Acheron Hades.  She refused his advances when she was in college.  She survives a mission gone wrong, relocates herself to her hometown, and goes off on the adventure of her life.  What’s not to like about Thursday Next?

My favorite thing about her?  She has flaws.  She’s slow to forgive.  She’s rash.

She’s very well-balanced.

The Story

What I like most about this story is that it sets up for sequels.  Which there are, by the way.  For once, I’m not complaining about a 1st person narrative.  I loved this 1st person narrative.  The story takes you through a strange, but familiar world.  But by the end you’ve barely scratched the surface of what spec-ops does.  There are twists and turns – you know that she’s going to end up going into Jane Eyre (it says so on the back of the book) – but it doesn’t happen until very close to the end.

One of my favorite parts of the story is how there are parallels between the actual novel Jane Eyre and plotline of the book.  Both Jane and Thursday leave a love behind.  They both end up  almost marrying someone that they do not love.  It’s quite interesting and fun to watch it unfold.

I cannot sing the praises for this novel enough.  I loved it.  I haven’t been drawn into a book this hard for quite awhile.  It was refreshing.  So I definitely recommend this to people who love science fiction and fantasy.  I recommend it to people who enjoyed Jane Eyre.  I just recommend it for people in general.

3 thoughts on “Must Reads: The Eyre Affair

  1. I’ll certainly check it out. I loved Jasper’s “The Big Over Easy” which was a detective story with ties to nursery rhymes. If you hadn’t read this one, I recommend it. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

    • I haven’t read “The Big Over Easy” yet – but I’ll definitely get around to it. After I finish the rest of the books in this series because of reasons.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Pingback: A Couple Things to Remember as a Writer (Part 5) « Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

