Top 5 Favorite Books

Things are going okay in Starving Writer Land.  A lot of things have been changing and I want to mention now that I don’t know how often I’ll be posting standard blogs.  My grandmother just moved in with us for home hospice care – it is a stressful time.  But I’m glad that we’re helping her out.  She seems happy here and that’s all we can ask for.

I’m also making some decent progress on my next novel, Opus Prelude.  Again, it should be out around Christmas time.

Lisa Van Opens was the winner of my Opus Aria Fanart contest!  She will be receiving a signed copy of Opus Aria.  Here is a link to her winning piece of art!

I thought I’d try a different sort of blog this time.  My top 5 favorite books.  I’m not going to give them a particular order, because it’s super hard just to choose books when I love so many.  So…without further ado…

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

I first read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? when I was in college.  I read it in a single day partly because of an assignment, partly because I couldn’t put it down.  PKD weaves the narratives of two very different characters together.  The androids are well written – they seem human.  I don’t want to give too much of the novel away because it really is a fantastic story.

I know that PKD can be a little difficult for some readers to swallow.  Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? is a bit easier to wrap your head around.  Still, I highly recommend people at least give it a chance.  PKD did wonderful things for science fiction.

The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

I first read The Catcher in the Rye on my way back from Canada.  I had read Nine Stories the previous semester (and I think I read most of it when I was in high school too, hard to remember though) and had found that I really, really enjoyed JD Salinger’s work.  Since then, I have purchased all I can.  This was another one day read for me.  I was just so drawn in by Holden’s character that I needed to keep reading.

I know most people read this in high school (I DIDN’T!) – but if you haven’t, I strongly recommend that you do read it.  It’s just one of those books that everyone should read at some point in time.  And if you like The Catcher in the Rye; you should check out The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.  Another coming of age story.  Both excellent.  Plath’s novel nearly made it onto this list.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Once again, this was a quick read for me.  Maybe two days?  I first read the novel when I was in high school – after the movie had wormed it’s way into my mind.  I instantly fell in love with the narrative style – I still strive to write as well as Palahniuk does.  I don’t want to spoil the book, because the ending is QUITE different from that of the movie.  It’s a great read, interesting and unique.

It was really hard for me to pick a favorite out of the Palahniuk novels I’ve read.  It was a toss up between Fight Club and Haunted.  I know Haunted is a collection of short stories – but it’s one of my absolute favorites.  Anyway, I would recommend Fight Club to those who aren’t faint of heart.  If Fight Club manages to gross you out, don’t touch Haunted.  Both are great books though.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

This is the most recent one I’ve read that made this list.  I finished reading this book last month and haven’t been able to stop singing my praises of it.  It was action packed, full of great characters, and had an interesting take on the original story of Jane Eyre.  I have every intention to read all the books in this series.  Anyway, it’s an incredibly inventive story that keeps you pulled in the entire time.

I highly recommend it to everyone.  There is a bit of harsh language somewhere in there – but it is usually found in the young adult section!  It has a little bit of everything.  Some time travel, mystery, literary allusions, puns.  It’s just great.  It very quickly pushed it’s way into my top 5 books list.

The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

I first tried to read this book when I was in middle school because of my probably-not-healthy obsession with the Andrew Lloyd Webber version of Phantom of the Opera.  I didn’t finish the book at that time because of a variety of reasons (pretty uncontrolled ADD, parents divorcing, all that fun stuff).  But I did go back and buy the book once I saw that the movie was coming out.  The book pulled me in and didn’t let go.  I simply had to keep reading.  I loved finding out all about the Phantom’s (Erik’s) past.  This book certainly didn’t help my preference of villains.  I was always firmly “Team Phantom.”  It successfully blends romance and horror genres into something unique.

Conclusion…

So those are my 5 favorite books.  At this point in time.  This list is always subject to change.  I might read a book that is absolutely phenomenal and blows me out of the water (coughEyreAffaircough).  As you can see, I have a bit of an eccentric taste when it comes to reading.

I’m always looking for reading suggestions.  So if you have some, go ahead and say them!  I’ll at least check them out!

~LL Lemke

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Books

  1. I feel like the only person in the world who didn’t like the Catcher in the Rye. I guess it just isn’t my kind of book. I did love Fight Club, and I might read Haunted soon. Maybe once I finish American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

    • I’ve always looked at it as you either love Salinger or you can’t stand Salinger. I just happen to love his writing! It’s so hard for me to choose favorite books…

      I highly recommend Haunted. American Gods is on my reading list.

      Thanks for the comment though!

Leave a Reply

