Gearing up for National Novel Writing Month

Hey all.

Things are still a bit…off…in Starving Writer Land.  I’m slowly working through everything. I’m starting to get back into my taekwondo training as well.  I skipped out on personal training for about a week and half.  It was a little strange to be back in class today – I was actually quite anxious. It was screwing up my technique a little!

I’ve also started writing again. I’m taking a small break from Opus Prelude – which is a little disappointing.  I wanted to get it out around Christmas, but it just isn’t plausible anymore. I want to publish something that I’m proud of…and if I rush through this draft I can’t guarantee I’ll be proud of what I produce.  My new goal for publishing Opus Prelude is around May. Sometime around Anime Central.  Hopefully.  Anyway, on the note of other writing, I’ve been working pretty hard on developing a novel concept for one of my roleplay characters.  I love playing her so much. I think she’ll be fun in a novel.  I always sound so crazy when I talk about the characters in that novel.  One of the male characters has a habit of mocking me.  See? There I go again. Sounding like I’m insane.

NaNoWriMo 2012

So I’ve done NaNoWriMo the past two years. I haven’t won either time.  Opus Prelude was actually my first NaNoWriMo novel (NaNo2010).  So far, National Novel Writing month has brought me wonderful concepts and I’m glad that I’ve participated.  I’ve gotten about 30,000 in both years that I’ve participated…which I think is pretty good.  I can’t find my stats from 2010, so I’m not entirely sure how much I got during that month.

So this National Novel Writing Month…I’m going to be revamping an old story.  One that I started writing in high school.  I loved the concept.  It was the longest story that I had ever written – at the time.  Opus Aria, Opus Prelude, Convergence Point…those are all longer.  Opus Crescendo might even be longer than ‘Rose Falls’ ever was.  So the working title for this is Ghost Love Score.  It’s a Nightwish song…but I think it fits and I’ll probably end up changing it at some point.  But I like it as a temporary title.

I’m not going to be using any of the text from that original version.  I’m redoing all the characters and a huge amount of the plot.  And the story has a new setting – the same universe that Convergence Point takes place in.  It’ll be a standalone novel.  I’m really excited to work on this.  I loved working with that particular story when I was in high school.  It was some of the better writing that I did in high school.  In hindsight, the writing is absolutely horrible.  I’ve grown a lot as a writer since then.

So…who all is planning on doing NaNoWriMo this year?  I’m looking for some writing buddies!  Here’s the link to my author page.

Hope everyone does well!

~LL Lemke

9 thoughts on “Gearing up for National Novel Writing Month

    • Sometimes you just have to take a break – I totally understand that. I start getting a little stir crazy if I can’t get my writing done, you know?

      There’s always next year for NaNoWriMo.

      • Yeah, I make sure to keep writing down ideas as I want to continue writing in the next few months. NaNoWriMo is one of the great things on the internet and I can’t wait to participate in it again next year. 🙂

        • That’s great. I write down ideas too – even if I won’t get to some of them for years, you know? NaNoWriMo is one of the things I look forward to each year. This is my third year competing. I started planning for this year’s in JUNE!

          I hope that you’re able to participate next year too 🙂

  1. I’m taking part for the second year! I’m limebirdbeth over there and about 8 other Limebird Writers are also taking part (their names are in my author description) if you would like some buddies! 🙂

  2. I’m still learning from you, but I’m trying to achieve my goals. I absolutely love reading all that is written on your site.Keep the stories coming. I enjoyed it!

  3. Pingback: Why I LOVE NaNoWriMo « Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

