Why I LOVE NaNoWriMo

Hey all!  Is everyone getting psyched up for NaNoWriMo?  I sure am!  But we’ll come back to National Novel Writing Month.

Last week I was out in California.  It was a lovely vacation. It was very much needed too.  I had a great time.  It was amazing to get to see a new (to me) part of the city.  And it was very different to be there when I was over 21.  Last time I was out in Cali it was a few months before my 21st birthday.  It was great to visit family, great to have some time to get my head back in the game.  And it was great to have time to get some work done on a new story.

It was tough going back to taekwondo today, though.  A week and a half without stretching or that sort of exercise.  It’s surprising how fast some of that leaves you.  Stamina…flexibility.  Thankfully my muscle memory was still intact!

National Novel Writing Month

So. I’ve mentioned NaNoWriMo before.  I’ve mentioned that I’m gearing up for it.  I’ve mentioned that Opus Aria is going to be 20% off during NaNoWriMo with the code NEXGFDGQ.  I don’t think I’ve mentioned the story that I’ll be working on during the month of November, but that’s not a huge deal yet.  I’ll be talking about Ghost Love Score (the working title for this piece) all next month.  You’ll be sick of hearing about it by the time November ends!

But I’ve never really talked about why I like NaNoWriMo so much.

I suppose I should do that, right?

I first heard of National Novel Writing Month when I was in high school.  I had really wanted to participate – but I’m the type of person who procrastinates hardcore on my homework…so it was never a possibility at that point in time.  I followed it pretty hardcore in college – but again, I’m the type who has trouble making sure my homework gets done on time.  It wasn’t a possibility during college either.  Especially since I was a writing major.  I already did so much writing that it was hard to even think about cranking out 50,000 words in a month…while keeping up on all my classes.

So the first year that I was able to participate was 2010.  My working title was Prior Lives and it followed the story of Darien Marcellus.  I didn’t finish my story in the month.  I felt myself burning out at the end.  But…NaNoWriMo brought me something wonderful.  I went into the month thinking that Prior Lives was just going to be a standalone novel and that it would be awesome.  And then as I started in…it magically started melding into the Opus Aria universe.  And then John Stratton waltzed in.  And then it became the prequel to Opus Aria.  For those who are interested, this is the next novel that is being published.  It’s now called Opus Prelude.

Last year my working title was Convergence Point and it followed the story of Celia Grey.  Again, I didn’t finish in the month.  Honestly, I still haven’t finished Convergence Point.  But I’m slowly chipping away at this one and I have a great idea of where it ends (AND IDEAS FOR A SEQUEL).

So my track record for completion during NaNoWriMo…pretty awful.  God awful, even.

But National Novel Writing has always brought me amazing stories. Amazing characters.  Great plot lines.  It helps keep me motivated.  I work well with deadlines, technically.

So I love National Novel Writing Month because it brings me inspiration.  It brings me new and wonderful stories.

Of the people who do NaNoWriMo, what do you like the most about the month?  Pros and Cons, spill!

Thanks for reading, guys.

~LL Lemke

2 thoughts on “Why I LOVE NaNoWriMo

  1. People keep saying I need to sign up for this, but I’m really unsure. I’ve spent so much time writing non-fiction for businesses and such that I doubt I’ve got any creativity left in my bones. For some reason, writing 400 articles about the same thing will do that to you…
    I’m keen to find out how it goes for you though! Perhaps you will persuade me to do it next year.

    • I won’t say that you absolutely have to sign up for this – but I will say that it’s a blast. Last year was the best for me because NaNoWriMo really rejuvenated my creative juices. But I can see how it would be difficult to get back into creative writing if you’re writing 400 articles about the same thing. That sounds really draining.

      I’m hoping to finish this year…and if I don’t, I’m hoping to have a great start to something new. If you join us next year, that would be awesome!

      Thanks so much for the comment.

Leave a Reply

