Beyond Space and Time: A Look at the Modern Doctors

Hey all!  I’m trying to breathe some life back into this blog.  I missed it. I was just a little burnt out.  Not a great excuse, but I’ll stick to it!

I got my results from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award yesterday.  I did not make it through to the next round.  I am more than a little disappointed – but congratulations to those who did make it through!  And good luck with the next round.

I was hoping for some suggestions on what you guys would like to see from me in terms of blogging material.  My anime posts are the ones that pull in the most views for the blog.  And I have a few series I’d like to cover (I just have to watch them one more time).  But what interests you the most?

Doctor Who

I’ve been sitting on the draft of this post for so long now.  At least a year and  a half – I think it’s finally time to finish it. Eventually I’ll get around to doing a proper Doctor Who post, but I feel like going into the Doctor’s character a little bit tonight.   For those who don’t know, Doctor Who is a long running science fiction series on the BBC.  I only got into it a few years ago – my junior year of college, I think.  Not that it really matters.  Still going to be blogging about it.  There may be minor spoilers in this post.  Proceed with caution.It’s been kind of getting on my nerves that people think 10th and 11th incarnations of the Doctor are too similar in personality.  I’m putting 9th in here because I love the 9th Doctor, we can’t have him feeling left out.  So I’m going to attempt and analyze the Doctor’s personality in these three incarnations.  Why?  Because I want to!  While I’ve had this idea for years now, it’s taken me awhile to figure out how I really wanted to word what I thought.

9th Doctor

9thdoctor

The 9th Doctor, portrayed by Christopher Eccleston.  He was my first Doctor, so he has a special place in my heart.  Of the three Doctors I’m going through, he is the obviously distinct one.  He is the embodiment of all that anger, bitterness, and pain that the Time War caused.  He is cold and aloof, but animated.  In the first couple episodes he’s in, he is distant.  A bit of a jerk.  But he gradually starts to warm up and develops more into a jerk with a heart of gold (hooray TV tropes!)  I usually compare 9th to a Gryffindor – he was brave enough to do what had to be done in the Time War.

He is a bit of a death seeker, jumping into situations that could possibly kill him more than once.  By the end of his tenure on the show, he has morphed from that death seeker to one who sacrifices himself to save another.  In my mind, that’s him trying to make up for all the pain and death he caused during the Time War.  My favorite thing about the 9th Doctor is how much he comes to life when he has companions.  How much they help him develop as a character.

10th Doctor

Doctor Who10th Doctor.  When I first started watching, this is who everyone associated with Doctor Who.  Keep in mind, I started watching in about 2009.  Since I was a big fan of the 9th Doctor, it took me awhile to warm up to how David Tennant portrays the 10th Doctor.  I like thinking of 10th as an overexcited puppy who is far too smart for his own good.  He is outwardly joyous and bubbly – exuberant even.  A bit of a genius ditz.  The stark difference took awhile to get used to – until I realized that 9th’s actions and development are what made 10th what he is.  I usually compare 10th to a Ravenclaw – a genius but a little bit crazy.

I know some people don’t really appreciate the fact that he is “the lonely god”… but I think it suits him.  An immortal time traveler.  He would be lonely.  Losing Rose to a different dimension really brought out some of his less pleasant tendencies.  Like a titch of a god complex (most evident in Waters of Mars).  I thought it was logical character development, but I know some people didn’t really like his “time lord triumphant” moment from the aforementioned episode.

11th Doctor

11thdoctor

 

Unpopular opinion: I love how Matt Smith portrays the 11th Doctor.  He had big shoes to fill – David Tennant was well-liked in the fandom.  Where 10th is goofy and bubbly, 11th has the capacity to be way more serious.  He’s insanely goofy at times, but he’s distant.  10th lost a lot…and that shows in 11th.  He doesn’t want to lose more companions.  My theory on the residual goofiness is the fact that 10th’s last words were “I don’t want to go.”  Parts of 10th stayed with 11th – and amplified.  But he is different.  Where 10th is a Ravenclaw, I usually put 11th in Slytherin.  Usually because of the Dream Lord incident, okay always because of the Dream Lord incident.  If a Hufflepuff and Slytherin had a baby, it would be 11th.

I like how he’s been developing.  I like how he’s an old man trapped in a young body.  I’m very interested to see where his story is going.

 

Who is your favorite Doctor of the modern ones? Do you think that 10th and 11th are similar?

~LL Lemke

 

Leave a Reply

