My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 3)

writerleopardHey all!  It’s been awhile since I’ve made this kind of post on here.  October 2011, to be exact.  I looked it up.  I thought I had done one much more recently – I guess that tells me how fast 2011 and 2012 went by.  My novel writing is continuing to pick up.  It’s been very difficult for me since October…but it’s slowly getting easier.

Life is going well.

I’m slowly chipping away at my Opus Prelude revision – which I’ll cover later.

It’s weird to think that it’s almost March.  2013 is going by quickly too.  I need life to slow down a little.  Or I need more hours in the day.  Someone get on that! I would like more hours in the day – STAT.  It would make everything much easier.

Anyway…current projects and issues.  It’s no secret that I’m always working on something.  I love writing ad I love creating new universes to play around in.  2012 was a fantastic year for that.

100_6549

1. Opus Prelude

This is my current BIG project.  This is the prequel to my published novel – Opus Aria.  This is the next one I’ll be publishing.  The revision is coming along swimmingly, though I need to be writing faster.  It’s hard to come back to this novel when I have so many other FUN ideas going on.  That…and Darien can be difficult to work with from time to time.  It’s really frustrating for me to write a character who has no self-defense skills, but it’s a good drill.  Once I get this revision done I can start focusing on my other projects, or at least bring a different one into focus.

The main issue with this is me wanting to work on other projects.  I just need to sit down and really crank out this novel…

I’m a second degree black belt. I can do anything I set my mind to, right?

2. Never

This is one of the projects I’m most excited to work on.  It deals with mutants in my multiverse.  It has a rotating point of view between Quentin Marks (she’s a lady mutant, telekinetic), Aderyn Bialy (she’s also a mutant, chameleon skin), Killian Mason (a lady, not a mutant), and Never (…I’m not quite sure what he is other than powerful and un-aging.)  I’m not sure if this is setting up for a series or if it is standalone, but it’s the novel that managed to get me writing again.  I have a pretty strong idea of what’s going to happen with the characters. I can’t wait to be working on this novel again.

3. Ghost Love Score

This is my unfinished NaNoWriMo 2012 novel.  I love what I’ve managed to get so far…and I have a vague idea of where things are going.  I think I just picked the wrong novel for NaNoWriMo.  This one needs more time to develop.  Had I started Never during November, I might have been able to finish.  This is me re-doing an old concept I had laying around.  I loved the characters and the premise (I took a lot inspiration from the Cradle of Filth song “Saffron’s Curse”) – but I wasn’t really old enough when I started writing it to give it much direction.

I like where it’s going…I just think I need to work on it at a different time.  Let the characters develop a little more.

4. Opus Crescendo

Part of my issue with this is that I was stupid.  This is on my desktop…which is finnicky at best (why do all my computer’s live up to their names? I’m sorry I named you Barbossa!)  So I haven’t been able to work on it for awhile.  I realized that I didn’t have all of what I had written when I was transferring some bits and pieces from my notebook to the document and that I was missing a whole chapter. Or two.  Ooops.

Cloud storage, kids.  It’s your friend.

It’s fun to work with Light and Stratton though.  I’m not sure this novel will ever be published…I just like the idea of giving the story between Prelude and Aria.

5. Limbo

This novel makes me happy.  Limbo of the Saved.  This was my crazy attempt to get something ready for ABNA.  I hadn’t realized that I had a near complete draft laying around…so I started something new. I love it. I love the world, I love the characters, and I know where it’s going.  Half the time I want to be working on this novel.  I’m insanely excited to be working on it. Kama, Toshiko, and Ethan are all made of win.  And this is a novel that might actually work in young adult fiction!

Look at me branching out.

It’s also my first attempt at fantasy in a long time.  That has me both nervous and excited.

6. Cheshire

This is a project that has been a long time in the making…I’ve started it twice.  This might just be a side project for awhile, because I’ve done so much work in the Opus universe…and this is yet another novel that deals with it.  But this novel allows me to better explore Adepts and the REST of the Opus universe.  See…Cheshire and Anza work for Karmic Sense – a massive megacorp in the Opus Universe. That’ll be fun to work with because it’s an entirely different dynamic.

And it’ll be nice to get all of Cheshire’s story hammered out.  I think he was 23 when he left the Opus Universe…and he’s anywhere from 27-30 in Convergence Point…

Issue: I’m getting a little tired of the Opus Universe.

7. Opus Requiem

I think a picture sums this one up.

100_6550I’ve been working on the concept for Opus Requiem since 2009.  I started writing it immediately upon finishing Opus Aria’s first draft.  That didn’t go well.  It was also called Opus Canon at that point.

A lot has changed.

 

So those are my current writing projects.  Well, most of them.  I purposely didn’t talk about some of the ones on the list.  I also forgot to list some of them!  These are my main projects.  The sad thing is that it might take years for me to get to some of the stories.

What’s everyone working on?

~LL Lemke

 

4 thoughts on “My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 3)

  1. Im glad I am not the only person who works on more than one novel at a time. Good luck your mind must never stop! Im a bit the same only decided this year to focus on one novel and see it through, will be following you with great interest.

    • I feel weird when I try to work on one thing at a time…it feels more natural to work with the ideas as the come, right? Thanks, good luck to you too! (and no, my mind never stops, hehe)

      Best wishes to you and your novel!

      And thank you for the comment.

  2. Pingback: My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 4) | Rants from a Starving Writer

  3. Pingback: Current Writing Projects and Problems: Part 5 | Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

