Time Flies When You’re Easily Distracted

national_poetry_monthHey all!  Sorry that it’s been so long.  I’ve gotten caught up in some things recently.  I know.  I’m making excuses.  Again.  I’m bad at staying on track with things.  However! It is now APRIL.  That means it is time for National Poetry Writing Month!

There’s a lot to talk about today, so that’s awesome.

My revision of Opus Prelude is coming along. I won’t say well or quickly, but it is coming along and that’s something.  I have so many other things that I want to be writing…but I need to get this one done.

So.  Time really does fly when you’re easily distracted.  Since my last blog post – which was actually a vlog…I have finished two different anime series, started a text based RP with a friend, and thought of the future of one of my main universes.  And now it’s April…so poetry time.

National Poetry Writing Month

So.  Now it’s April…time for poetry!  I’m going to be doing the poem a day challenge this year.  My goal, as always, is to complete it.  If by some chance I can’t finish the challenge…I’ll be happy with whatever I manage to get.  I like writing poetry…but I’ve always preferred writing fiction.  That’s just me! So here’s today’s poem.

[My name is the word shouted…]

My name is the word shouted in praise to the heavens.  Allelujah! Hallelujah! But I am nothing but a beast, whining for table scraps from behind bars.  A leash and collar hold me in place…duties that drag me into the stars.  I howl my name to supernovas and black holes – the words drowning in endless darkness.

 

The poem is a bit rough around the edges, but I think there might be something there.

Cosplay Stuff

So, I’ve also been busy planning costume stuff.  For Anime Detour and Anime Central.

First costume!  My character Aria Brayton from Opus Aria.

opusaria

I have just about everything for the costume – though not all of it is here.  So here’s a pic of me in the wig!

aria_wig

Second costume that I’m working on!  Allelujah Haptism from Gundam 00!

For this one, I have most of the clothing just laying around, because I’m awesome.  I ordered the wig and the contacts today!  Everything should arrive in time for Anime Detour.  He’s such a fun character – even if he’s a bit derpy.  Well.  Sometimes.  He can be downright badass at other times.

What I have so far…

100_6657

Not the most flattering picture of me. I was tempted to do a posed shot with me kicking.

FINAL COSTUME.

Tieria Erde from Gundam 00

TieriaErde-Uniform3

We have this one ordered.  It might not make it in time for Detour though, which is a shame.

WHAT I HAVE

100_6660

My skin tone is way more suited to Tieria than Allelujah.

New Novel Idea

So.  I had been wanting to write something that was fun and had mechs and all that jazz.  And I started planning characters, because one has been floating around in my head for awhile (Her name is Alexia Scrima, she passes as a man most of the time!)  I developed four other main characters and all was well

And then one of my Opera characters walked straight in.  Jinto Jameson.  Opus 2.  Except he’s older in this one.  Somewhere in his 40s.  And I’m going. WHAT.

NO.

NOT ANOTHER STORY IN THAT UNIVERSE

…but it’s in the future and there’s going to be giant robots!

So yeah.  there will eventually be another book in the Opus Universe.  It’s just going to be in the future.

So yeah…

I’m really easily distracted.  But this is what I’ve been distracted with!

LL Lemke out!

 

3 thoughts on “Time Flies When You’re Easily Distracted

    • Thanks! It’s a tough challenge. I’ve tried to do it the past two years. I usually end up falling behind around day 10-15. But it’s great for the poetry writing and makes me focus on it for a bit 🙂

      thanks for the comment!

      • I hear from fellow teachers that once you do something for three weeks (21 days roughly) then it becomes a habit. Maybe you will get into habit. My poetry-writing friends always tell me I need to write at the same time everyday as well, but I’m not that good at it.

Leave a Reply

