Kindle Steals: Lifesphere INC: Acquisition

lifesphere_INCI’m loving my Kindle.  I went on a binge and bought a bunch of free books the other night.  It was glorious.  Though…perhaps I should break up my buying sprees – this particular one managed to get my Kindle to freeze up.  Poor Veda.

I’m in negotiations? on the cover-art for my next book (Convergence Point, due out in December 2013).  I’m very excited.

So yes, the next book out will be Convergence Point.  No worries though, the Opus series will be continued.  There are two more books left in that series.

So today’s blog post is all about Lifesphere INC: Acquisition by Talitha Kalago.  I finished this book last night…I started reading it…two days ago?  The cover is what pulled me in – a slightly anime-esque cover.  Eye-catching.  The genre and description convinced me to buy (along with the price!)

A Little Bit of Summary

Lifesphere INC: Acquisition follows the story of Eli – an orphan, scavenger living in the Rim.  The story opens with a newscast about a meka, a creature that develops only after it gets a spark of human DNA (which makes every meka different).  The news’ story states that a meka is attacking an area of town…and that they’re considering make meka restricted to an orange citizenship class and above.  Eli doesn’t take the news well – a meka would be the only way he can get out of the Rim.  One of the people he works with mentions that they heard of someone selling meka.  Eli goes and looks through the Blueline (a step up from the Rim), meets a young woman named Squall, who advises him to stop looking.  That it would be dangerous.  Once he finishes speaking with her, a man approaches him…tells him he can get Eli a meka.  For a deal.  That once the meka has hatched, it will have to fight.  To the death.

Stopping there before I spoil anything!

What I Liked

I think it’s more what I DIDN’T like for this book.  I really liked that the characters had actions that were basically age appropriate.  They made mistakes – which I think is really important for characters who are only thirteen.  Characters aren’t perfect – and younger characters would be more prone to making mistakes.  So that was one thing I really liked.

I enjoyed that they behaved like teenagers as well.  Squall had a silly teenage crush on the pretty-boy antagonist.  Eli automatically didn’t like the pretty-boy antagonist because he screams topside.  Even after helping each other, they still weren’t friends.  The behavior was spot on for young teenagers.

I absolutely love the concept for this.  I really enjoy the idea of having a creature that is different because it has your DNA.  I like that human and meka are linked in a psychic way.  It made me want to know how these creatures were created, it made me want to know the backstory.

And…I really liked the caste system.  The undercity, the Rim, the Blueline, topside…and even up on top there’s MORE levels to the caste.  It adds another layer of complexity into the story.  Very nicely done.

What I Didn’t Like as Much

So there’s a lot I liked in this novel.  What I found myself disliking was how easy some things were resolved.  Eli needed to get an orange level citizenship.  No problem.  They got a backer and it was resolved.  I wanted there to be more conflict there!  A lot of the main conflicts seemed to get tied up neatly with convenient solutions.

My other main complaint is that the novel ended rather abruptly – there wasn’t much denouement or falling action.  It’s something I have trouble with as well, so I probably shouldn’t complain too loudly.  The final fight scene ended…and then after a very small amount of falling action did the novel itself end.  A little more resolution would have been nice.

All in All…

This is an excellent YA dystopian sci-fi novel.  I gave it 4/5 on Amazon…and I would read it again.  It’s a quick read and has an engaging narrative.  I think that it would be good for those who are 12 and up!  If you like Pokemon and other anime series like Gurren Lagann, I think Lifesphere INC: Acquisition is for you!

Has anyone read this novel?  What did you think?

~LL Lemke

add1

One thought on “Kindle Steals: Lifesphere INC: Acquisition

  1. Pingback: Germ Magazine | Review: Lifesphere INC: Acquisition by Talitha Kalago

Leave a Reply

