My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 4)

Do-not-get-frustrated-in-direct-salesHey all!  Sorry I went quiet for a couple days there.  I’ve been a bit drained in terms of creativity.  Not sure why.  I’m sure it’ll jump start soon.  I’ve been a bit down…once my energy and mood come back I’m sure my creative juices will start flowing again.

So I took to playing some video games.  I’ve almost completed MagnaCarta 2 and I decided to start Tales of Vesperia.  I should eventually get back to Mass Effect as well.  I play games so weird.  I start things, ignore them for awhile, come back, play for a little longer, and go back to ignoring.  Rinse, repeat until I actually finish the game.

I’m so weird.

Alright, down to business.

Current Writing Projects and Issues

I’ve done a couple of these posts before (part 1, part 2, part 3).  It’s been a few months and quite a lot has changed since that!  Hooray!  

look_at_all_those_projectsAs you can see, there are quite a few projects there.   About 11 that I’m actively working on.  So! Let’s talk about the big ones…

Opus Crescendo

This is the sequel to Opus Prelude.  This is one of my pet projects…I’d love to publish it, but I want to finish it first and see if I still like the idea.  This story follows Light Morrison (who should sound familiar, he was a rather significant side character in Opus Aria) and John Stratton (who features in both Opus Prelude AND Opus Aria).  I know precisely where I want this novel to end – I just have to get there.  I managed to recover this from my desktop Barbossa (may he rest in pieces).  Remember kids!  CLOUD STORAGE! It’s your friend!

My issues with this novel are that I’m really not sure it’s going to be good in a published sense.  This is me hammering out what happens between Prelude and Aria…because there’s a lot of time between those novels (versus the MOMENTS between Opus Aria and Opus Requiem).  I love working with Light and Stratton.  They’re great in terms of POV characters.

I think I’m just waffling on it.  I’ll probably wind up pounding it out.  I mean…if I’m interested in finding out what happens between the novels, other people will, right?

Never

I’ve talked about this novel before.  This is the novel I started in the wake of my grandmother’s illness and death.  It really helped me get through some of the frustration and grief.  I’m really pleased to be working with Quentin and company again.  They’re fun characters!  Some names have changed a bit – but these things happen.  It’s really interesting to be working with such different concepts.  There’s really, DEFINITELY a caste in this novel.  I’m not sure if it qualifies as a dystopian caste, but there’s a caste system.  I’m still pretty sure that this is a standalone novel – but there very well could be potential for a series.

We’ll see.

My issues with this are that I’m not sure I’m quite experienced enough with third person multiple POV.  I’m not sure it’s going to come together the way I want it to…and that’s really frustrating.  I also have an outline written for this novel – and I’m not sure it’s stifling me or giving me the structure I require.

Future of Opus

WELP.

I had promised myself that I would give myself a break from the Opus universe when I finished up the primary series.  Ooops. Then I started planning this novel featuring mecha because I LOVE mecha and I’m so surprised I haven’t worked with them yet.  Really, Gundam Wing was one of the highlights of my childhood.  But then Jinto Jameson of the Opus series waltzed in and decided to be the man in charge of everyone.  Oops.  So it’s tentatively called “Future of Opus.”  But it doesn’t really deal with Opus.  It’s just in the same universe…and in the future.

I’m REALLY unoriginal with WIP names.

So my issues here?  I have to finish all the Opus books before I can really plan for this series!  And making it original.  There’s a lot of mecha out there…and I want to make sure mine is different somehow.  Or at least not blatantly ripping anyone off. I’ve got vague ideas where I want this to go…so that’s good, right?

Zodiac

Despite having SO MANY WIPs at the moment, my brain decided to barf this out a few weeks ago.  It’s really underdeveloped right now, but it’s allowing me to work with magic.  And that makes me happy.  This is way more fantasy than I usually work with, which I think might be a good thing.  It’ll give me a break from sci-fi for a bit.  I’ve always liked zodiac signs, I think it’s interesting.  Not necessary right or wrong, just really interesting.

Issue?  There are a TON of characters.  I thought of one character for each sign.  I’m not sure if those are all main characters – but there are SO MANY characters.  I’ve thought of vague ideas for villains as well.  This is still really in development…so there are a lot of unanswered questions that I would prefer to be answered.  Who are my POV characters? How old are the characters? What kind of world is this? Where do I want this to go?

Woe is me.  I have to think of a new world.

(god I love my job)

NaNoWriMo 2013

…well damn…

I don’t have an idea for NaNoWriMo yet.  I suppose I could use Zodiac…or something else.  I’m just not sure.  I usually do my NaNoWriMo planning WELL in advance.

It feels weird to not have it planned yet.

Wow…I need forty hour days to get all this done…

The bright side?  I don’t think I’m going to run out of ideas for quite awhile.  I love writing and my brain just randomly spits out new ideas for novels.  Or characters. Or whatever.

So this is what I have on my plate.

How is everyone’s writing going?  How many projects do you work on at a time?
~LL Lemke

add2

 

One thought on “My Current Writing Projects and Issues (part 4)

  1. Pingback: Current Writing Projects and Problems: Part 5 | Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

