NaNoWriMo is Sneaking Up…

100_6961The past two years it feels like NaNoWriMo has really managed to sneak up on me.  Last year I did my planning well in advance (as usual).  But this year…I didn’t even have anything for an idea until September!  But I have been doing my planning.  So I figured I’d give some sneak peeks on what to expect.  I might even post an excerpt during NaNo if I deem it doesn’t suck.

Things have been going pretty well here.  I was sick for a few days there – damn weather changes!  And then I tweaked my back a little yesterday afternoon, which sucks.  But I’m doing better today and that’s what matters in my mind.

NaNoWriMo

Alright.  This is my FOURTH year attempting NaNoWriMo.  I’ve never won.  I can make all the excuses in the world for why I’ve never managed to finish, but I don’t care.  I enjoy the rush of trying to pound out the novel…and I love what the month brings me.  I’ve published one NaNo novel and have another one slated to be published in December.  I’ve talked about my love of NaNoWriMo before, so we don’t need to rehash that.This year, I’ve got fun things planned.  I’ve had some of the first scenes of the novel playing in my head for about a month. I can’t wait to write them.  I’m chomping at the bit. I want NaNoWriMo RIGHT NOW.

This Year’s Concept

Well…I’ve been all over the place in making concepts this year.  I’ve made a bunch of fun ideas and that makes me SO happy.  You’ve no idea.  So this year’s NaNo is taking place in a dystopian setting (GASP!) with a bit of a caste (GASP!!).  I’ve worked with this kind of thing before, but never like…this.  I have a society with three main classes, I’m sure there’s more division within each of those classes, but I’m not quite that far into planning.  We have rich, merchant, and poor.  Pretty basic, but that’s where I’m starting.  Then there’s a separate class entirely, which falls into ‘fighter’.  See, this is a humanity that has a strange…thing…going on.  Every once and awhile there are people who have the ability to turn into slightly large, fighter versions of themselves.  Usually these people are big, muscly types.  If there are fighter traits seen in a child, they are immediately put into the fighter caste.  People usually are found out to be fighters by the time they hit puberty.

100_6960The fun thing about these fighters…is that they can blood bond with people.  This is highly restricted and watched.  The fighters can’t bond to other fighters (I don’t think, though that could be interesting!).  They end up bonding with a ‘strategist’.  The blood bond gives them a bit of telepathy between each other – which helps during fights.  I haven’t decided if I want this to be cage fighting or something more ominous.  I’ll decide that soon enough.  Mako is my main character, he is a strategist.  Aryne (yes, that’s a man’s name) is his fighter.  They meet under less than ideal circumstances.

So I don’t have much right now…except for characters.  I need to do more planning.

100_6963But I’m really, REALLY excited for this coming NaNoWriMo.  I want to write NOW.

100_6962So there it is.  That’s going to be my November.  Fighters and strategists and fun stuff.  Who all is planning on NaNoWriMo this year?  What’s your story going to be like?

Hope all is well!

~LL Lemke

add2

Leave a Reply

