The Importance of Amazon Reviews

amazon.com-logoHey all! Looks like this is going to be the final post of 2013. I hope everyone is having a nice holiday season.

I started thinking of this blog because Opus Prelude is on free promo right now. I’ve noticed that Prelude doesn’t do as well as Opus Aria does on free promo. Even the time I completely forgot to advertise Opus Aria, it did reasonably well.

No such luck with Prelude.

So I started to wonder why it didn’t do as well. The cover looks just as cool. Admittedly, it needs a better description. The fact that is part of a series probably doesn’t help either.

I’ve come to the conclusion that it boils down to the amount and quality of the of reviews.

The Facts

Opus Aria has seven reviews, all of which are positive and informative. Opus Prelude, on the other hand, has one review (which is quite nice).

opus_aria_reviews

This disparity is part of the reason I’ve been running my books for reviews contest giveaway thing. I was going to get a few more reviews on Prelude so my sales can go up.

The main reason independent authors need the reviews is to try and compete with big name authors that are backed by publishing houses.

looking_for_alaska_reviews

 

The more reviews there are on a product/book/whatever, the more likely people are to buy.  They can go through the various reviews and see what people disliked about the books (or whatever product they’re looking at).  When I’m going through the independently published books, I look at the reviews.  It doesn’t always decide if I buy the book, but it sometimes can influence my decision.  If there are primarily 3+ stars on something and people seem to have enjoyed it, I’ll usually check it out.

Though I DO sometimes pick up free books that have absolutely no reviews.

veracity_reviews

 

So the moral of the story?  If you enjoyed something by an indie author, leave them a review on their book!  It is EXTREMELY helpful.  Like I said, Opus Aria does better than Opus Prelude.  I’m sure there are more factors than just the differences in reviews, but I’m sure only having one review isn’t helping Prelude.

Makes me wonder if other independent authors are having similar problems.

Going to Rehash this too

So, in the same vein.  I’ve got that contest thing going on.  If you leave reviews on my books on AMAZON, you get entered to win FREE SIGNED HARD COPIES OF BOOKS.  ISN’T THAT NEAT?

THE RULES

1. Read the book.  While I appreciate reviews, I want them from people who have actually read the books.

2. Be honest in the review – let the reader know what you thought! I appreciate honest critique!

3. One review per book.  Please don’t use multiple accounts to get more entries. You get two entries if you review both books.

4. You must have a public email on your account for me to contact you if you win.

5. You must be willing to give me your address so I can ship the books to you.

PRIZES!

1st Prize: You will get a signed hard copy of Opus Aria, Opus Prelude, AND Convergence Point.

2nd Prize: You will get a signed hard copy of two of the above mentioned books.

3rd Prize: You will get a signed copy of one of the above mentioned books.

IMPORTANT DETAILS

-The contest will run from now until Convergence Point is released – which is in December.  That gives plenty of time for people who HAVEN’T read the books, to READ the books!

-I will be using random.org’s list randomizer feature to determine the winners.

-My books can be found here

-I will count all reviews on the books – but only the ones that have public emails.

-I will announce the winners AFTER Convergence Point has been released.

-I will email the top 3 to let them know they have won.  If someone doesn’t respond within a week, I will move down the list to the next name.

-if you have any questions, you can contact me at laura.lemke88(at)gmail.com

 

Alright everyone.  Hope you all have a fun and safe New Years.

Any other indie authors out there having trouble with reviews and sales?

~LL Lemke

One thought on “The Importance of Amazon Reviews

  1. Pingback: Coming out of the Fog | Rants from a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

