Gearing up for ABNA 2014

abna-badge_250Hey all! Sorry for the post last week.  That was meant to be a draft and it uploaded to the website because I’m a derp and I was on mobile.  I’ve learned my lesson since then!

As that derp post mentioned, I’m gearing up for ABNA (Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award) 2014.  I participated last year where in an unsurprising twist, I was eliminated in the first round.  I’m hoping that last year’s experience will help me craft a better pitch.

The other big thing going on in my life is the fact that I’m a staff writer out a GERM Magazine!  It’s a great place for young girls (and guys!) to ask all the questions they need to a variety of people.  We’re going to provide factual information about everything we can.  I’m doing my indie book reviews as well as some more geeky stuff (though that’s upcoming and not actually on the site yet).  Go check it out!  There’s some really great articles and I think there’s a great message there.

Back to ABNA.  I’m a bit strapped for time this year as the announcement was sudden and I honestly though that the contest was cancelled.  Especially because the ABNA dashboard disappeared off of my CreateSpace for a bit.  That was more than a little concerning.

I was all ready to start work on Opus Crescendo.  Then the next day the announcement for ABNA came.

So Bloodbond is my ABNA project this year.  ON THAT NOTE. I absolutely HATE the title and REALLY want some help with it.

This is the vague synopsis I used for NaNoWriMo: Humanity had been nearly wiped out by what is now referred to as the incident. There are little pockets of civilization…and it might be hell on the inside, but its way better than being outside the walls. Outside the walls there are monsters…fiends leftover from the incident. Blood bonded strategists and fighters fought to make their cities…

This brings us to Mako Lowell, a young man who lives on the inside of the walls. His life is learning the sciences of blood bonds and trying to ignore his parents who want him to take over the family business. His life takes a turn for the terrifying when he is cornered by some thugs. The scared young man makes a split second decision and blood bonds with a complete stranger – Aryne Markert.

Ideas on a new title?  Anyone else out there participating in ABNA this year?  We might as well have a mini-ABNA support group!

~LL Lemke


6 thoughts on “Gearing up for ABNA 2014

  1. I’ve entered ABNA the past four years … I’m not sure whether I’ll have anything ready for this year, though. I also was thinking it might have been canceled, and then the announcement came pretty last-minute. I’d have to finish up the draft I’m working on before the deadline, but I kind of doubt I could do it on time. So, I’m on the fence about it at this point.😛

    As for title ideas … hmmm, coming up with titles is always something I struggle with. I tend to pick a word or two that I think relates to the story, or some phrase that comes up in an important scene.

    • When I saw the announcement I had a bit of a mini-panic and then started outlining the draft I’m working on. I’d just keep working toward the draft and if you have it done in time, awesome. If you don’t, you still have a draft of a novel in progress.

      A friend suggested ‘Blood Bound’ rather than ‘Blood Bond’, which is a bit nicer. I’m sure I’ll figure something out, I just hate putting titles on things. Too bad its not like poetry where you can slam the first line in brackets and call it a title.

    • Good luck! Unfortunately, I don’t think my entry is going to come together, in that I still have 30,000 words to write. Or so.

      Maybe next year.

      Or I just submit Convergence Point again.

      …well, that’s not a half bad idea at all, now is it…

    • I’m not hugely fond of it. I think its a little too on the nose. Though…I do have some interesting ideas for it as well that play with Bloodbond…

      The title is still in flux =P

Leave a Reply

