Kindle Steals: Freaks of Greenfield High

freaksofgreenfieldhighHey all!  Sometimes I have tons of trouble trying to figure out which book I want to review.  Sometimes I go through my Kindle and despite having hundreds of books, I sigh and need to go and find more.  This was one of those times.

Freaks of Greenfield High by Maree Anderson caught my attention because of its tagline – a cyborg love story.  I’ve heard of a few books exploring cyborgs and love, but none of them had really caught my attention.  I read the description and decided that yes, I would get this (FREE!) book.

Freaks of Greenfield High has two main protagonists – Jay (a cyborg lady) and Tyler (a social outcast teenage boy).  For the most part, we see Jay’s integration into high school life to better hide from the people who are chasing her.  While she’s a skilled mimic, she doesn’t really understand how to handle the advances of rudely flirtatious boys.  While they see each other briefly in the office before school, our protagonists don’t meet until their first period biology class over the dissection of a frog.  It gets a bit embarrassing from there – especially when Jay realizes that her emotions are evolving.

What I Liked

I utterly adored how Jay was portrayed throughout the book.  It’s made clear from the start that while she’s a cyborg, that she can feel and has emotions.  Everything about her was very calculated – how much strength she could use to throw a pitch, how much she could show off.  It was a really great way to show that she wasn’t quite human.  But I really liked that she saw her emotions as errors – errors that she didn’t know how to fix at first.  And finally errors that she didn’t really want to fix.

As for Tyler?  I liked how he was different, but still suffering from the same problems that teenage boys do.  He had a huge zit when he was going to school and it worried him.  I also liked that he was really protective.

As for the story? I enjoyed that there were chapters dealing with the people hunting Jay mingled in, it reminded you that this wasn’t just about a cyborg girl hiding at a school – it reminded you that Jay was on the run from something dangerous.

What I Didn’t Like as Much

This is going to sound really nitpicky, but I really, really disliked that there was text and chat speak mixed into the narrative.  I understand it sneaking into dialogue between teenagers, but when its in the narrative it feels a bit jarring.  It took me a few times to realize that ‘OTT’ meant over the top.

There was one other instance, which is a spoiler, that made me feel a bit uncomfortable.  But it was a very realistic reaction to what had happened – and it stopped after a few pages.  It was a section that was very difficult to read – and it was meant to be hard to read.

All in all…

I really enjoyed Freaks of Greenfield High!  I’ll buy the sequel, Freaks in the City, as soon as I can because I’d really like to see where the story is going next.  I just can’t fathom why this book only has 14 reviews on Amazon!  The description for the book mentions that its recommended for older teens – and I think I agree with that.  It’s a very quick read, I think it only took me about five hours.  If you’re looking for something that balances teen romance and cool sci-fi cyborg stuff, look no further.

Any of you read Freaks of Greenfield High?  What did you think?

3 thoughts on “Kindle Steals: Freaks of Greenfield High

    • well, yes. It’s difficult for indie authors to gain recognition. Amazon makes that a lot easier for us, though. But reviews are often the determining factor on buying. If the book isn’t free, I take a lot more stock in what the reviews say. I want to be sure that what I’m getting is worth my money.

      This book IS free – so I don’t see why it wouldn’t have more reviews.

Leave a Reply

