Kindle Steals: The Emperor’s Edge

emperorsHey all! This book was recommended to me by my friend Morgan.  I was looking for ebook/indie book suggestions since it can be extremely difficult to find a book that I actually want to read, even with Amazon’s HUGE library.  Thankfully, Morgan saved the day and made it easier for me!  That being said, feel free to send me an email at laura.lemke88@gmail.com if you have an ebook/indie book to suggest.

The Emperor’s Edge by Lindsay Buroker follows the story of Amaranthe Lokdon.  She’s one of the only female enforcers in the city she works in and she’s good at her job.  Her job is to take down petty thieves, deal with thugs, and keep the peace.  Her job gets more complicated when her higher-ups send her on a mission to deal with a renowned  assassin.  Despite knowing that it’s a poor choice to go through with it, Amaranthe follows her orders.  Among all of this is mystery and chaos.

What I Liked

I really adored the characters in The Emperor’s Edge.  Amaranthe is a really fun protagonist.  She’s tough and strong, but still manages to slot into the the feminine business role as well.  She is caring and compassionate.  She contrasts well against the other characters, who are (depending on the character) aloof, abrasive, vain, or just rough around the edges.  It’s really just a good cast of characters.  One of my favorites was the emperor himself, Sespian.  There was a good deal of mystery and conspiracy in the book.  I loved that I didn’t manage to figure out what was going to happen, though I did have some vague guesses turn out to be right.  The book is also set in an interesting world – I can’t wait to see how it’s explored in the subsequent books.

What I Didn’t Like as Much

Sometimes it felt like the leaps in logic were happening a little too easily.  There were several dire situations that it felt like escape happened too easily.  The character who made the leaps in logic could just be that clever or intuitive, but I just wanted to see them struggle to get out of those situations so easily.  Also, a good portion of the villains we had were pretty obviously villainous.  I was just hoping for  a little more struggle on figuring out who was on our protagonist’s side.  There were a few times that the dialogue felt a bit stiff, but that might just be how certain characters talk.

Conclusion

Another book that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.  The Emperor’s Edge is 322 pages long and I read a good 70% of it in one day.  It really pulls you in.  I’m not entirely sure the series is done being released at this point, but there are 8 books.  And The Emperor’s Edge is free!  Truly a steal of a deal.  There are some darker, grittier bits that I wouldn’t recommend for our younger readers.  Like with my last review, I’d say that The Emperor’s Edge is probably best suited for people over the age of 14 or 15.   I would give this book a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

~LL

One thought on “Kindle Steals: The Emperor’s Edge

  1. Pingback: Review: The Emperor's Edge by Lindsay Buroker

Leave a Reply

