Kindle Steals: Girl Behind Glass

PrintHey All! It’s a new month, that means its time for a new book to review!  As I’ve said before, if you have a book you’d like me to review, just contact me at laura.lemke88@gmail.com.  I appreciate input on what to read!  It’s always hard to choose a book to review.  This month I chose Girl Behind Glass by Abby Wilder.

Girl Behind Glass follows Willow Stanton, a sixteen year old girl who lives in a place called Nuovo.  There aren’t trees or animals and food is scarce, as is water.  People consume nutrition pills to survive and a product called sustain.  They live in a domed city to separate nature and people, since people are what destroyed nature.  Willow’s every day life spirals out of control, leading to a situation where she is dangling on the wrong side of the glass.  She lets go and finds herself in the world of mudders – those who live outside the dome.

What I Liked

I really enjoyed the concept of the domed in city.  It makes a clear cut line of what is considered right and wrong in the book.  I liked that we got that right off the bat.  It made me want to know more about the society.  There was a lot about the culture I really enjoyed.  All the people are named after things in nature, like birds and animals and plants.  It’s very interesting.  I really liked how Willow reacted to her new situations.  She was confused and defiant and acted very much like any sixteen-year-old would when thrust into a new situation.  That was really believable.  Really nicely done!  There were a lot of different types of characters and that delighted me to no end.

What I Didn’t Like as Much

There were a few things I was less fond of.  There was a pretty big focus on romance, which I wasn’t expecting as much.  The book ends pretty abruptly in my mind.  You have your climax and a bit after, including an epilogue.  And then the book is done.  I was hoping for a little more falling action to help things resolve.  However, since this book is the first in a brand new series, it’s not as big of a deal.  I’m sure a lot of what I want will be covered in the next book!  The final the thing that bugged me?  One of the characters has a pretty big flip in personality, without much explanation on the fact.  I hope that will be covered in the next book as well!

Conclusion

Girl Behind Glass is an interesting read.  There was a lot I enjoyed, but I also have a lot of questions that I want answered.  Right now, Girl on Glass is free on Amazon.  It usually goes for $3.99.  I think I’d rate it at 4 stars.  I read it quickly and enjoyed it.  It’s a solid debut novel.

Has anyone else out there read Girl Behind Glass? What do you think?

Thanks,
LL

One thought on “Kindle Steals: Girl Behind Glass

  1. Pingback: Review: Girl Behind Glass by Abby Wilder

Leave a Reply

