Camp NaNoWriMo: guess I’m participating

camp nanoHey all! It’s been awhile since I’ve done Camp NaNoWriMo (2014, to be exact.) I really enjoyed the experience the first time around, it was a bit more lowkey, the cabins were fun, all sorts of things. What I liked the most? Being able to set my own word count goal. In 2014, I set the goal of 40k. I had the novel I was working on completely outlined, I think. I was able to gauge how many words I had left to write.

Camp NaNo helped me finish that novel. Granted, I’m going to be working that novel over from the ground up. I’m less than pleased with how the novel turned out. There were a lot of issues. But I’m glad that NaNoWriMo honed my focus onto that novel. It gave me tangible goals, I think.

This year I’ll be working on my Opus Crescendo revision. It might be a bit of cheating to use a revision as a NaNoWriMo project, but it’s one that I need to be working on. I gave myself the goal of 50k, which is a bit low for this particular novel. I don’t want to stress myself out too much though. If I hit 50k? Grand, glorious. That’s 50k words I didn’t have on this revision before. If I surpass it? Awesome! Perhaps I’ll finish the novel in the month!

If I don’t reach 50k? I tried my hardest. I made progress on a project that wasn’t getting progress before.

reasons to do NaNoWriMo

There’s a built in support group! There’s a ton of other writers all working toward goals during the month – and Camp NaNoWriMo is particularly interesting because you’re in cabins. Meaning, there are a number of people who you can easily chat with and bounce ideas off of. Struggling? Talk to one of your cabin mates. Need someone to do word sprints with? Talk to a cabin mate. If you’re cabin is particularly quiet? There are forums as well.

NaNoWriMo gives you a goal with prizes. We all have regular writing goals, you know, hit X words per day, make sure to write a little bit every day. Things like that. I don’t really keep track of how many words I do a month – though perhaps I should. It would be interesting to see how much I actually write in a month. But NaNoWriMo gives that big goal. 50k is a huge accomplishment. And NaNoWriMo gives rewards to those who complete their goals within the month. Be sure to check out the sponsor prizes on the website – some of them are pretty cool!

I don’t know about anyone else, but NaNoWriMo always gives me a bit more focus on my writing. I tend to not work on the piece beforehand – only outlining and world building and hyping myself up for everything. That way once I start, I’m chomping at the bit and racing through everything. During NaNo, I only work on that particular project. All other ‘professional’ projects get put on hold for the month (though I’ll make exceptions for Patreon, of course). Usually, I’m working on multiple projects. It works well for me. Maybe NaNoWriMo is close to hyperfocus for me. I don’t know.  But yes, I feel it gives me focus.

I’ll admit that NaNoWriMo doesn’t work well with some people, but it doesn’t hurt to try. If you find yourself getting too stressed? Stop. Don’t burn yourself out. Anything you did during the month is an accomplishment. Part of writing is finding out what works best for you.

Anyone else doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year?

Happy writing!
~LL

patreon_banner1,0

commission_banner1.0

14 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: guess I’m participating

  1. It’s not cheating to edit during Camp. You can choose to edit, write a novel, or write a screenplay, or comic. So go for it and good luck. 🙂

  2. This is my first year doing camp nanowrimo. Last November was my first time participating in NaNoWriMo and I loved it. The whole atmosphere is great and the community couldn’t be better to help you focus and really get so much done.

    • I’m glad to hear that NaNoWriMo has worked well for you! Camp is a bit more of a relaxed atmosphere – that whole being able to set your own goal thing. Good luck in Camp this year, maybe we’ll get sorted into the same cabin!

        • I’m writing in science fiction, technically cyberpunk, but they don’t have that as an option, heh. My outline is 100% done, though there’s always a bit of room for me changing my mind on scenes. I’m working on a revision, so I have a good idea of where the story is going already.

  3. This is my first time participating in Camp Nano. I did join in on the November nanowrimo but I didn’t use it to its full potential. My word count was about 13, 000. For me that was a big accomplishment. I def wouldn’t have been able to do that without Nano. I never write that much for one story lol. I have like 7 different things. But this time around I’ve been tossing around a possibility of a trilogy and Camp Nano could not have come at a better time to help motivate me. Best of luck to you!

    • I’m firmly in the camp of anything you do in NaNoWriMo or Camp is a huge accomplishment. So great job with those 13,000 words! It took me a long time to be having stories that are 50k+ in length – and to be able to finish them. I never had the attention span, lol. Here’s to hoping you have a fun and successful Camp Nano! and thank you very much!

      • Thank you so much! I always have the basic story outlined. The beginning and the end written out. But its the middle I have trouble with lol. I hope to see you around nano!

  4. I am writing poetry at 10,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo and celebrating my birthday July 11. I have a cabin called Cabin Enigma. Do you have a cabin yet? I would like to be NaNo writing buddies with you.

    • Oh nice! I wish you luck for the month. And happy birthday a bit early! My birthday is also in July, I’ll be celebrating on the 20th. I’m in a cabin already, unfortunately. I’m sorry for the slightly late response on this – for some reason WordPress decide to filter your comment into spam – so I didn’t see it until I went through them today.

      Again, I hope you do well during the month!

Leave a Reply

