Upcoming: how is it almost October already?

nanowrimoHey all! Things are still going pretty well. I’ve been setting up my desk the way I want it. It’s still getting there, but it’s so nice to have dedicated workspace again. I think it’s really going to help with things. I can’t wait until I have a proper computer chair, haha.

Anyway, I’m usually really aware of what time of year it is. Writing does that. There’s big writing events in April (NaPoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo round 1), July (Camp NaNoWriMo round 2), and November (NaNoWriMo). I don’t participate in the April events anymore, I have conventions that I attend around that time of year and it gets very difficult to get the right word counts when you’re running around a convention. Strangely enough. I did okay at Convergence, but I think that was mainly the convention and the fact that I’m often on my own there.

That’s not my point though. My point is that October decided to sneak up on me. Which is…weird. As I said, I’m usually hyper aware of what month it is. Especially when we’re getting so close to NaNoWriMo.

Which of course brings up the question: what am I doing for NaNoWriMo this year? 

I’m a lot busier with writing than I have been in past years – does that mean I shouldn’t participate in general? I’ve been doing NaNoWriMo every year since I graduated college, I don’t really want to end my participation streak. But I will, in all likelihood, be working on two long term projects at the same time. However, those two projects will be 100% outlined and therefore ‘easier’ to work on…

I’m not going to use either of those projects, though. I’ll be tempted to post more updates on them if I work on them for NaNoWriMo – and those particular projects update every other Friday on Patreon and every other Monday on AO3.

I’ve been considering the remainder of my Opus Requiem draft as a NaNoWriMo project. I have about 6-7 chapters written already (12k-15k), but I have about 50k worth of material left to get through. It’s a story that I’ve been reluctant to work on despite it being completely outlined. Part of me is afraid, the other part doesn’t want the Opus series to come to an end. Opus is what started my writing career. Ending that series is almost frightening.

But ending Opus means moving on to new projects and getting to stretch my legs creatively. It’s a double edged sword.

I can’t officially update my NaNoWriMo profile until October, but I believe the project I’ll be working on is Opus Requiem. I’ll probably be posting NaNoWriMo support posts on Write the Stars – feel free to check it out. If there’s enough interest, maybe I’ll make a small Skype chat (big ones freak me out). We’ll see!

Happy writing
~LL

Here’s a bonus picture this time! My new workspace!

20160927_125224

You can’t tell, but it’s an L-shaped desk. So I have space on the one side to write by hand. It’s a nice improvement. And look at that space for expanding to a dual monitor desktop eventually. It’ll be glorious.

write the stars

patreon_banner1,0

2 thoughts on “Upcoming: how is it almost October already?

Leave a Reply

