NaNoWriMo: some time in

nanowrimoHey all! Things are going pretty well out by me – save for the weekend where I slept about 36 hours out of 48. I’m not exaggerating. That’s just about how much I slept. It’s ridiculous. There are reasons for that, but I’m not going into them on here, they don’t really matter anyway. They’re resolved!

This was a busy weekend too – a concert on Friday (The Pretty Reckless) and on Saturday we went to a wedding.

Anyway – here’s an update for NaNoWriMo. We’re getting close to the midway point! If you’re on track, awesome! If you’re ahead, awesome! If you’re behind, still awesome! Remember, you’re undertaking something really big. You’re creating a world, peoples’ lives, all sorts of things. Sometimes it’s going to take longer to convey that through words.

This is the point where fatigue can start to set in. We’ve been going at NaNoWriMo for about 13 days at this point. Maybe you’ve hit a bump in the road, maybe you’re just not getting enough sleep, or maybe you need to introduce something that invigorates the plot.

But the thing is? You’ve done great so far. I’ve always had trouble with getting started. Sometimes I would question where was the best place to start (the beginning, of course). Sometimes I have more trouble wrapping things up.

My point is that you don’t have to get discouraged if you’re behind. You’re doing something cool and difficult! As much as people say that anyone can write a book (which, I suppose they can), they always fail to take into consideration how much work goes into something like that. That it’s not just writing words until it’s done. No, you’re creating a world, you’re creating characters and their stories. It’s hard work – and it’s awesome that you’re doing this in such a busy month.

I’m not really feeling the fatigue. Maybe that’s because I’ve had five or so days this month where I haven’t written on my project. Maybe I just have more tolerance for this since I do this all the time. I don’t know. Maybe I’m just really excited to get this story on paper (that’s probably the likely answer, actually).

If you’re having trouble, just keep working at it. Chip away a little at a time. And check out the NaNoWriMo twitter for some inspiration! They have all sorts of ideas for what you can be incorporating into your novel.

Keep having fun and hope the writing continues to be good!

Happy writing
~LL

Leave a Reply

