Camp NaNoWriMo – At the Finish Line

campnanoHey all! Been awhile since I checked in.  I took down Patreon for now.  I’ve been a bit stressed between writing novels, working for GERM, and working at taekwondo.  So I got overwhelmed. I picked a bad month to try and start the campaign.

It will come back once I feel a little more steady on my feet.

Anyway, the reason we’re here!  We’re in the last hour and a half of writing time for Camp NaNoWriMo for the central US timezone.  Am I writing now?  No.  I finished about a half hour ago or so.  Not only did I get my writing goal complete (40,000 in the month), but I completed the project I was working on.

Though I keep having this urge to add a sequel hook when I intend for this to be a standalone novel.

But I have a REALLY GREAT sequel hook.

Decisions, decisions…

So obviously Camp NaNoWriMo went well for me.  I hope it went for all of you.

I guess I’m feeling a little out of sorts about finishing this novel.  I started this novel in 2012, following my grandmother’s death.  I stopped working on it for November 2012 because NaNoWriMo and that seemed to be the stamp of death for it.  I was terribly blocked and burned out following NaNo 2012 because I tried to write the wrong novel at the wrong time and was overall really depressed and anxious.

I can’t remember when I started working on it again, but I decided to pick it up between projects.  I got some done, you know, just a little here and there.  Including one scene that makes me laugh out loud whenever I read it.

It got shelved again.

And then a friend asked me to cover Camp NaNoWriMo for GERM and I wound up signing up to participate.  I decided I’d use this novel because well, I wanted to finish it.  I think it has an interesting story. now I realize I need to revise a bunch of things and make a few things more apparent and I don’t like the primary antagonist’s name anymore

But actually finishing the project has me a little down.  Finishing a novel always makes me feel a little down anyway.  It’s the end of a very long journey and the start of an even longer one (the editing process).  But I always feel a bit sad that my characters are done telling me their story for the first time.  Maybe that’s why I want to add the sequel hook – its another 1k-2k words with my characters before I have to let go.

Anyway.  I’m going to let the draft decompress for a week or so, then get to revising a few chapters, then send it to my beta readers.

~LL

Leave a comment